Skip to Main Content

Foreign & International Legal Research

This guide includes information on researching specific countries' laws (Morocco, Spain) as well as researching international laws, including international human rights.

Introduction

This guide was created as a course companion to Specialized Legal Research: International Human Rights. However, it is also designed to assist others who are starting research projects related to international human rights.

Research Texts

Guide to International Legal Research by The George Washington Journal of International Law & Economics
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement KZ 1234 .G85 1990-current - Also available on LexisAdvance
ISBN: 9781522160076
Publication Date: 2018
International and Foreign Legal Research by Marci Hoffman; Mary Rumsey
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 85 .H64 2012
ISBN: 9789004204805
Publication Date: 2012-04-19
International Legal Research in a Global Community by Heidi Frostestad Kuehl; Megan A. O'Brien
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement KZ 1234 .K84 2018
ISBN: 9781611631999
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by Marci Hoffman; Robert Berring
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KZ 1234 .H64 2017 - Also available through West Academic Study Aids Online
ISBN: 9781634605212
Publication Date: 2017-03-24

Research Guides

American Society of International Law's Guide to Electronic Sources for International Law
Guides cover a variety of topics, including treaties and human rights.
GlobaLex
Collection of research guides covering a variety of foreign and international law topics.
University of Minnesota Frequently Cited Treaties
As an aid to law review citation-checking, this guide provides a list of treaties frequently cited in law review articles, along with links to these treaties in PDF format, when available electronically.

To find other research guides, search for your topic + "legal research guide" in any internet search engine.

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Subscription database

Introductory Resources

Advanced Introduction to International Human Rights Law by Dinah L. Shelton
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .S4375 2014
ISBN: 9781782545231
Publication Date: 2014-09-26
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law by James Crawford
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd Floor KZ 3225 .B76 A37 2012 - Also available through OPIL Online
ISBN: 9780199699698
Publication Date: 2012-11-25
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law by James R. Fox
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor KZ 1161 .F69 2003
ISBN: 0379215012
Publication Date: 2003-12-23
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by David P. Forsythe
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor JC 571 .E528 2009
ISBN: 9780195334029
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by Edmund Jan Osmanczyk; Anthony Mango (Editor); Kofi Annan (Foreword by)
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor 4968 .O84 2003
ISBN: 0415939208
Publication Date: 2003
International Human Rights in a Nutshell by Thomas Buergenthal; Dinah Shelton; David Stewart; Carlos Vazquez
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor K 3240 .B84 2017 - Also available through West Academic Study Aids Online
ISBN: 9781634605984
Publication Date: 2017-07-18
International Law by Boleslaw Adam Boczek
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor KZ 1161 .B63 2005
ISBN: 0810850788
Publication Date: 2005-02-09
An Introduction to International Human Rights Law by Azizur Rahman Chowdhury (Editor); Jahid Hossain Bhuiyan (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .I63 2010
ISBN: 9789004179721
Publication Date: 2010-06-14
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by John P. Grant; J. Craig Barker; Clive Parry
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor KZ 1161 .P37 2009
ISBN: 9780195389777
Publication Date: 2009-10-02
Research Methods in Human Rights by Bård A. Andreassen (Editor); Hans-Otto Sano (Editor); Siobhán McInerney-Lankford (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement KZ 1266 .R47 2017
ISBN: 9781785367786
Publication Date: 2017-05-26

Selected Specialized Resources

Cybersecurity and Human Rights in the Age of Cyberveillance by Roy Balleste (Editor); Joanna Kulesza (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement TK 5105.59 .C934 2016
ISBN: 9781442260412
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
Defining Civil and Political Rights by Alex Conte; Richard Burchill
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3241 .C66 2009
ISBN: 9780754676560
Publication Date: 2009-03-28
Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in International Law by Manisuli Ssenyonjo
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .S714 2016
ISBN: 9781849466073
Publication Date: 2016-09-17
The Effectiveness of the UN Human Rights System by Surya Subedi
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3241 .S83 2017
ISBN: 9781138711532
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Environmental Law Dimensions of Human Rights by Ben Boer (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3585.4 E58 2015
ISBN: 9780198736141
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Ethno-Cultural Diversity and Human Rights by Gaetano Pentassuglia (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3242 .E846 2018
ISBN: 9789004328778
Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Human Rights at the UN by Roger Normand; Sarah Zaidi; Richard A. Falk (Foreword by)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .N67 2008
ISBN: 9780253219343
Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Human Rights Dilemmas in the Developing World by E. Ike Udogu (Editor, Contribution by); Sambuddha Ghatak (Editor, Contribution by); David R. Davila-Villers (Contribution by); Onah P. Thompson (Contribution by)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3247 .H86 2018
ISBN: 9781498559997
Publication Date: 2017-12-13
The Impact of Human Rights Law on General International Law by Menno T. Kamminga (Editor); Martin Scheinin (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .I465 2009
ISBN: 9780199565221
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights by Sarah Joseph; Melissa Castan
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .J675 2013
ISBN: 9780199641949
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
The Judicial Application of Human Rights Law by Nihal Jayawickrama
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .J39 2017
ISBN: 9781107015685
Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Practitioners' Guide to Human Rights Law in Armed Conflict by Daragh Murray; Elizabeth Wilmshurst (Editor); Francoise Hampson (Editor); Charles Garraway (Editor); Noam Lubell (Editor); Dapo Akande (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement KZ 6355 .M87 2016
ISBN: 9780198791393
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
Remedies in International Human Rights Law by Dinah Shelton
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .S44 2015
ISBN: 9780199588824
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
The Slave Trade and the Origins of International Human Rights Law by Jenny S. Martinez
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3267 .M37 2012
ISBN: 9780195391626
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Tracing the Roles of Soft Law in Human Rights by John Cerone (Editor); Thomas Gammeltoft-Hansen (Editor); Stéphanie Lagoutte (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240.5 .T73 2016
ISBN: 9780198791409
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
The Transformation of Human Rights Fact-Finding by Philip Alston (Editor); Sarah Knuckey (Editor)
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 3240 .T73 2016
ISBN: 9780190239497
Publication Date: 2015-12-21

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 3:41 PM
URL: https://guides-lawlibrary.colorado.edu/c.php?g=1238283
Print Page

Subjects: Foreign and International Law

Tags: foreign law, human rights, international human rights, international law, Morocco, Spain

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on: