Research Guides: Foreign & International Legal Research: GENERAL BACKGROUND and TRAVEL INFORMATION

General

The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: Palgrave eBook and LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor JA 51 .S7 2021
ISBN: 9781349960446
Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, annual
This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis.--Publisher

CIA World Factbook: Spain.

U.S. State Department: U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheet: Spain.

Wikipedia: Spain.

Travel and Cuisine

U.S. Department of State: Spain.

Fodor's Spain Travel Guide.

Lonely Planet travel guide: Spain.

Spanish cuisine (Wikipedia).

Press

According to The Statesman's Yearbook, the main subscription titles for Spain are El País and El Mundo, and the dedicated sports papers Marca and As. The leading free paper, 20 Minutos, has a much larger circulation than the leading subscription dailies.

A list of other newspapers in Spain is available on Wikipedia. Lexis+ has an aggregate source called All Spain News.

Language Translation

General Legal Dictionaries

Avalos Legal Glossary/Dictionary Translator and Other Related Fields of Study : English/Spanish Spanish/English by Francisco Avalos
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 A93 2018
ISBN: 9781983506482
Publication Date: Crowley Publications 2018
This work is the largest bilingual legal glossary/dictionary in the world (English/Spanish Spanish/English). Its coverage is exhaustive and comprehensive. This work also covers related subjects such as business, banking, immigration, court language, police terminology, taxation law and real estate terminology.--Publisher
Dahl's Law Dictionary : Spanish-English/English-Spanish by Henry S. Dahl
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 D33 2015
ISBN: 9780837740256
Publication Date: William S. Hein & Co., 6th ed. 2015
The new edition has been expanded, with both short and long definitions and new fields of law, such as enforcement of foreign judgments and arbitral awards, global warming, mediation, human rights, and international contracts.--Publisher
Kluwer Law International English/Spanish Dictionary by Steven M. Kaplan
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 K36 2013
ISBN: 9789041145659
Publication Date: Kluwer Law International, 4th ed. 2012
This Dictionary provides over 135,000 entries and nearly 185,000 equivalents covering all areas of law, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise.--Publisher

Criminal Law and Procedure Phrasebooks and Dictionaries

The ABA Spanish Legal Phrasebook by Samantha Snow Ward & Corinne Cooper
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 52 .S6 W37 2010
ISBN: 9781604429770
Publication Date: American Bar Association 2010
The book is divided into sections based on substantive areas of law including criminal law, family law, labor and employment law, personal injury and medical malpractice, immigration, bankruptcy, and business law.--Publisher
An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure by Sandro Tomasi
Call Number: LAW STACKS basement K 5014.6 .T66 2009
ISBN: 9780578049663
Publication Date: BilingualLawDictionary.com 2009
The English language codes upon which this work is primarily based on are the Model Penal Code and the US Federal Criminal Code and Rules.--Publisher
Legal Terminology Dictionary : English/Spanish & Spanish/English : A Bilingual Dictionary for Legal Translation and Court Interpreting by Sean Dean Stromberg
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 L44 2018
ISBN: 9781930993136
Publication Date: Continuing Legal Education in Colorado 2018
The editor is a staff interpreter of the Colorado Courts with 25 years of court interpreting experience. He has applied his extensive experience as a language teacher to ensure that this dictionary will be valuable for court interpreters and attorneys and also useful for business translators, linguists, language teachers, and law students.--Publisher
Merl Bilingual Criminal Law Dictionary by Cuauhtemoc Gallegos
Call Number: LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 M47 2014
ISBN: 9781886347069
Publication Date: Merl Publications 2014
Lexical and legal sources from multiple English- and Spanish-speaking countries are combined to provide a comprehensive and varied dialectic source, allowing for translation with subtle shades of meaning.--Publisher

Selected General Books and eBooks

General

For access to the eBooks in the list below, log on to CU VPN from off campus first.

Embodying Memory in Contemporary Spain by Alison Ribeiro de Menezes
Call Number: Springer eBook and Norlin Library Stacks DP 272 .R527 2014
ISBN: 9781137390905
Publication Date: Palgrave Macmillan 2014
This innovative book examines the emergence of a memory discourse in Spain since the millennium, taking as its point of departure recent grave exhumations and the "Law of Historical Memory."--Publisher
The History of Modern Spain by Adrian Shubert & José Álvarez Junco eds.
Call Number: Norlin Library Stacks DP 203 .H59 2018
ISBN: 9781472591982
Publication Date: Bloomsbury Publishing 2018
The volume includes a series of biographical sketches of influential Spaniards from intellectual, cultural, economic and political spheres which provides an interesting, alternative way into understanding the last 220 years of Spanish history. The History of Modern Spain also has a glossary, a chronology and a further reading list.--Publisher
Modern Spain : 1808 to the Present by Pamela Beth Radcliff
Call Number: ProQuest eBook and Norlin Library Stacks DP203 .R28 2017
ISBN: 9781405186797
Publication Date: Wiley Blackwell 2017
This presentation of modern Spanish history incorporates the latest thinking on key issues of modernity, social movements, nationalism, democratization and democracy.--Publisher
Spain : A Unique History by Stanley G. Payne
Call Number: ProQuest eBook and Norlin Library Stacks DP 63 .P1913 2011
ISBN: 9780299250249
Publication Date: University of Wisconsin Press 2011
This new volume by distinguished historian Stanley G. Payne draws on his half-century of experience to offer a balanced, broadly chronological survey of Spanish history from the Visigoths to the present.--Publisher
Spain : What Everyone Needs to Know by William Chislett
Call Number: ProQuest eBook and Norlin Library Stacks DP 272 .C47 2013
ISBN: 9780199936465
Publication Date: Oxford University Press 2013
In Spain: What Everyone Needs to Know, veteran journalist William Chislett recounts the country's fascinating and often turbulent history, beginning with the Muslim conquest in 711 and ending with the nation's deep economic crisis, sparked by the spectacular collapse of its real estate and construction sectors.--Publisher