Acing Constitutional Law by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.
Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law by
Barron, Dienes, and Jefferson's Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law, 10th helps law students succeed in class and on exams. This Black Letter Outline provides an accessible framework for recognizing and understanding the essential principles and issues covered in Constitutional Law courses. The book is a comprehensive study aid for use both when preparing for classes and when reviewing for exams. The authors, experts in the subject matter, provide students a much-needed guide for navigating their own learning.
Constitutional Analysis in a Nutshell by
This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive -- this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by
This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. As ever, the free expression area is once again fertile ground for generating Supreme Court case law. In Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (2018), the Supreme Court, per Justice Alito, 5-4, reversed the 40 year old Abood v. Detroit Board of Education (1977) precedent and held that its ruling requiring non-union members of a public sector union to pay for the collective bargaining of the union is a violation of the First Amendment. In Matal v.Tam (2017), the Court unanimously held that a Lanham Act provision prohibiting the registration of trademarks that "disparage--or bring--into contempt or disrepute" any persons living or dead is a violation of the First Amendment. In the area of freedom of religion, the Court in Trump v. Hawaii (2018), held, 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that a Proclamation prohibiting or limiting the entry into the United States of nationals from seven countries with Muslim majorities did not violate the Establishment Clause. The Proclamation could reasonably be justified on grounds of national security rather than religious hostility. In American Legion v. American Humanist Association (2019), the Court held, 7-2, per Justice Alito, that the Bladensburg Peace Cross, erected in 1925 on public land in Maryland as a memorial to veterans of World War I did not constitute a violation of the Establishment Clause. Government action which removes monuments that have religious symbolism and that have long been on public land could be seen as "aggressively hostile to religion." Finally, in this edition, as in previous ones, the goal has been to present the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, Ninth edition, by Allan Ides, Christopher N. May, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to individual rights. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines clear textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations, and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course that includes a study of individual rights. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of nearly 50 new Supreme Court cases Updated Examples & Explanations Expanded discussion of the freedom of association Richer treatment of the right to keep and bear arms Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, Ninth edition, by Christopher N. May, Allan Ides, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to national power and federalism. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of more than 40 new Supreme Court cases New and updated Examples & Explanations More sophisticated discussion of the federal preemption doctrine Updated treatment of presidential impeachment Expanded discussion of the executive privilege doctrine Deeper coverage of the appointment and removal of federal officials Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law
Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick. The Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law: Powers and Liberties offers a powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, and analyses. Brannon P. Denning presents a clear and thoughtful overview of the constitutional doctrines that govern the structure and powers granted in the U.S. Constitution, as well as those that protect individual rights and liberties. Accessible and interactive, the Glannon Guide series pedagogy teaches you to effectively answer exam questions as you review course content. New to the Third Edition: Combined the government structure and powers volume with the rights and liberties volume into one convenient, economical, and easy-to-use aid Updated with recent Supreme Court cases and related questions New flowcharts and tables visually illustrate and clarify complex areas of doctrine New Closing Closers Professors and students will benefit from: Multiple choice questions at varying levels of difficulty, along with detailed explanations of correct and incorrect answers that all students can use to self-test within each chapter Clear, easy-to-understand descriptions of constitutional doctrine, including summaries of all major U.S. Supreme Court cases Two sets of Closing Closers that allow for review following completion of the structure and powers and rights and liberties parts
Principles of Constitutional Law by
The authors, recognized authorities for over a third of a century, provide succinct and authoritative coverage of the major principles in modern American constitutional law. This book is a shortened version based on the authors' hornbook (popular with students) and their six-volume treatise (popular with judges, practitioners, and scholars). It analyzes the constitutional issues studied today, and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, federal commerce and spending powers, state powers in light of the dormant Commerce Clause, the war power, freedom of speech and religion, equal protection, due process, and other important individual rights and liberties. This book is completely up to date and includes all major Supreme Court cases through February, 2016, including the ground breaking First Amendment decisions of the Roberts' Court.
Principles of Constitutional Structure by
This book offers an overview of federalism, the separation of powers, and related matters of constitutional structure. It covers such topics as: the lawmaking powers of the national government (including those powers conferred by the Commerce Clause, the Taxing and Spending Clause, the Necessary and Proper Clause, the Enforcement Clauses of the Reconstruction Amendments, and other sources of federal legislative authority); federalism-based "external" constraints on congressional power (including those provided by the anti-commandeering principle, the "equal sovereignty" principle, and principles of state-sovereign immunity); federalism-based limits on state authority (including those imposed by the dormant Commerce Clause, the Article IV Privileges and Immunities Clause, and statutory preemption doctrine); structural constitutional principles concerning governmental entities other than the states (including Native nations, overseas territories, and the District of Columbia); and the horizontal allocation of power across the three branches of the federal government (including with respect to foreign and military affairs, the federal administrative state, the appointment and removal of executive-branch officials, impeachment, presidential and legislative immunities from judicial process, and the powers of the federal courts).
A Short and Happy Guide to Constitutional Law by
This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.
Understanding Constitutional Law by
Understanding Constitutional Law is a succinct but comprehensive treatment of constitutional law topics typically encountered in a first-year constitutional law class. The book provides the current black letter law doctrines alongside the historical background needed to understand them and the major lines of dissenting thought. It explains the methodological approaches the Court has taken to the topics it covers and is interspersed with commentary to help readers understand both those approaches and the rules they generate. Thus, the book is ideal for both students beginning their education in constitutional law and those seeking a deeper understanding. It's also suitable for practitioners seeking a sourcebook to help them analyze the constitutional law issues confronting them.
United States Constitutional Law by
United States Constitutional Law guides law students, political science students, and engaged citizens through the complexities of U.S. Supreme Court doctrine--and its relationship to constitutional politics--in key areas ranging from federalism and presidential power to equal protection and substantive due process. Rather than approach constitutional law as a static structure or imagine the Supreme Court as acting in isolation from society, the book elaborates and clarifies key constitutional doctrines while also drawing on scholarship in law and political science that relates the doctrines to large social changes such as industrialization, social movements such as civil rights and second-wave feminism, and institutional tensions between governmental actors. Combining legal analysis with historical narrative and sensitivity to political context, the book provides deeper understanding of how constitutional law arises, functions, and changes in a complex, often-divided society. "Farber and Siegel have written an excellent introduction to American constitutional law and constitutional theory that emphasizes the continual interactions between constitutional law and constitutional politics. Clear, concise, and judicious, this splendid book will interest professors, lawyers, and students alike." --Jack M. Balkin, Yale Law School "Dan Farber and Neil Siegel have given us a book on constitutional law that takes law seriously while also taking political science and history seriously. Anyone with an interest in constitutional law will find this book accessible and engaging; experts in the field will learn a lot from it. This is a genuinely impressive achievement." --David A. Strauss, University of Chicago Law School
CrunchTime for Contstitutional Law, Twenty-First Edition by
Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam.
Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester
Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Questions and Answers: the First Amendment by
Understand better what you're learning in First Amendment or Constitutional Law class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." The fourth edition has been updated with recent freedom of expression and religion cases. For each multiple-choice question, Professors Weaver and Araiza provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professors Weaver and Araiza provide a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
Constitutional Law: In Other Words Audio Series
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Constitutional Law lectures, Susan Carle explains the topics of Attacking a Procedural Due Process Claim; Preemption versus Dormant Commerce Clause Analysis; Dormant Commerce Clause & Article IV Privileges and Immunities Analysis; the State Action Doctrine and its Exceptions; Identifying the Right Level of Scrutiny for Equal Protection Analysis; Tenth Amendment Analysis Today; Sources of Congressional Power; The Commerce Clause and the 14th Amendment; the Necessary and Proper Clause and the Spending Clause; and Equal Protection, Substantive Due Process, and Procedural Due Process Claims.
Sum and Substance Audio on Constitutional Law by
Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience – listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The Audio provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These Audios are time saving, convenient and effective.
Use your CALI username & password to access these lessons. Email lawref@colorado.edu if you need to register for CALI.