Study Aids & Exam Prep

Burr's Wills and Trusts in a Nutshell, 6th by Sherri Burr The sixth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships, and trusts. It introduces wills and trust terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law included in the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, Uniform Principal and Income Act, Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, Uniform Prudent Investor Act, and the Restatement of Trusts. To illustrate legal issues this book utilizes problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and well-known deaths, such as those of Abraham Lincoln, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar. With clarified language, the book is also accessible to the general public interested in learning more about this complex topic.

Emanuel Law Outlines for Wills, Trusts, and Estates by Peter T. Wendel The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outline Features: #1 outline choice among law students Comprehensive review of all major topics Capsule summary of all topics Cross-reference table of cases Time-saving format Great for exam prep

Estates, Future Interests and Powers of Appointment in a Nutshell by Thomas P. Gallanis This comprehensive guide provides an overview of the rules and principles of estates and future interests, including concurrent estates, marital estates (including the modern elective share), and powers of appointment. It includes new innovations from the Restatement 3d of Property, modernizing the law of future interests and dramatically changing the Rule Against Perpetuities. With respect to powers of appointment, the book incorporates the clarifications and modernizations of the law in the Restatement 3d of Property and the Uniform Powers of Appointment Act (2013, with subsequent amendments). The book also has exercises, with answers at the back. Valuable for students in first-year Property and upper-year courses in Trusts and Estates.

Examples and Explanations for Wills, Trusts, and Estates by Gerry W. Beyer A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Gilbert Law Summaries on Future Interests and Perpetuities by Gilbert Staff , Gilbert Staff The topics included in this outline are reversions, possibilities of reverter, rights of entry, remainders, executory interests, and rules restricting remainders and executory interest. Also discussed are rights of owners of future interests, construction of instruments, powers of appointment, and the rule against perpetuities, including reforms of the rule.

Gilbert Law Summaries on Trusts by Edward Halbach, Jr.; Carla Spivack; Karen Sneddon This outline covers the trust law you will encounter in your Wills, Trusts and Estates class. Topics include the following: elements of a trust, trust creation, transfer of beneficiary's interest (including spendthrift trusts), charitable trusts (including the Cy Pres Doctrine), and a trustee's responsibilities, power, duties, and liabilities. Other topics include duties and liabilities of beneficiaries, powers to modify or revoke, termination of trusts by operation of law, resulting trusts, and constructive trusts.

Quick Review of Wills, Trusts, and Estates by Jeffrey Pennell; Alan Newman This book provides an outline and analysis of Wills, Trusts, and Estates, in a convenient format both for class preparation and studying for exams. It is a clear and concise explanation of legal concepts and terms, the rationale and inter-relation of various principles, and provides hints for analysis, strategies for evaluation, and study tips. Topics covered include intestacy, will execution formalities and contest, revocation, will contracts, will substitutes, construction and interpretation, restrictions on disinheritance, trust creation and operation, fiduciary administration, powers of appointment, future interests, the Rule Against Perpetuities, and planning for incapacity. It is particularly useful in cutting through the fog of future interests, and making sense of the many ancient doctrines that befuddle students and inform modern practice. This title also includes self-testing, review questions, and detailed explanations.

Understanding Estate and Gift Taxation by Brant Hellwig; Robert Danforth Understanding Estate and Gift Taxation is designed primarily for use by law students taking a course on the United States transfer tax system, i.e., a course on the estate, gift, and generation-skipping transfer taxes. The book consists of 26 chapters, each addressing one of the basic topics typically covered in a course on the transfer tax system, including the computation of estate, gift, and generation-skipping transfer taxes; the gift tax annual exclusion; the estate and gift tax marital deductions; and the estate and gift tax implications of transfers with retained powers or interests. Because the Internal Revenue Code and Treasury Regulations are the primary source materials for the transfer tax system, the book includes numerous excerpts of those provisions. Each chapter also includes summaries of the leading cases and IRS rulings, plus examples of how this area of the law applies to common fact patterns. Understanding Estate and Gift Taxation is designed primarily for law students, but it is also intended to be useful to practitioners, including generalists who need a relatively brief summary of an estate and gift tax topic, beginning lawyers who intend to specialize in estate and gift taxation and estate planning, and experienced lawyers who wish to expand their practices into estate and gift taxation and estate planning. The book similarly would be useful to accountants who practice in these areas.

Understanding Trusts and Estates by Roger Andersen; Susan Gary This new edition of Understanding Trusts and Estates retains the style and clear language that have kept generations of students engaged as they explore this intriguing field. Updates include coverage of electronic wills, new uniform act treatment of the parent-child relationship and unmarried cohabitants, directed trusts and trust protectors, and the uniform power of appointment act. Examples, charts, cross-references among similar concepts, and frameworks for analyzing problem areas all combine to give students the tools to deepen their understanding. Examples throughout the book demonstrate how trusts and estates doctrines affect real people. Although the book is designed primarily as a student supplement, some teachers have used it successfully as the primary text, supplemented by statutory materials, for both the basic course and for more specialized courses. Practicing attorneys may also find it useful if they are new to the subject or have been away from it for some time.

Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a Nutshell by Lawrence Averill Jr.; Mary Radford Authoritative coverage provides detailed explanation of the provisions, definitions, and concepts of the UPC and the UTC. UPC topics covered include, e.g., probate jurisdiction of the courts; intestate succession; wills and donative transfers; probate of wills; and administration of estates. UTC topics include, e.g., creation, validity, modification, and termination of trusts; discretionary and revocable trusts; creditor's claims and spendthrift trusts; duties, powers and liability of trustees; and rights of persons dealing with trustees.

Questions and Answers: Federal Estate and Gift Taxation by James Delaney; Elaine Gagliardi The third edition of Questions & Answers: Federal Estate and Gift Taxation is a comprehensive updated study guide designed to prepare students for midterms and finals. It has most recently been updated to reflect changes made by the tax act of 2017, commonly referred to as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, as well as various new and different interpretations of the estate and gift tax code by courts. This study guide contains over two hundred and forty multiple-choice and short-answer questions that progress through topics similar in sequence and manner to many estate and gift tax courses taught at the law school level. It also contains a comprehensive practice exam designed to prepare students for final exams with explanations about each correct and incorrect answer choice.

Office Hours on Trusts & Estates by Victoria J. Haneman Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Sum and Substance Audio on Wills and Trusts by Gary W. Beyer This audio lecture is designed to enhance your understanding of the topics covered in courses in wills, trusts, and estates. The discussion begins with intestate succession, that is, how a person’s property is distributed when he or she dies without a will, with special attention given to the issues that arise in determining whether a person qualifies as an heir. Attention then turns to wills, with coverage divided into sections dealing with the requirements of a valid will, changing circumstances after will execution, will revocation, will interpretation and construction, and will contests. The process of administering a decedent’s estate is covered next. Trusts are covered in detail starting with how trusts operate and why they are popular, the creation of trusts, trust administration, and trust enforcement. The audio lecture also covers related subjects such as disability planning, non-probate assets, the basics of estate planning, resulting and constructive trusts, and examination strategies.

Wills, Trusts, and Estates: In Other Words Audio Series by Ray Chao The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Wills, Trusts, and Estates lectures, Ray Chao gives an Introduction to Wills, Trusts, and Estates; Modification or Termination of Trusts; Trust Administration; Will Contests and Interpretation of Wills; Wills; and Will Substitutes. Sheldon Lyke explains Charitable Trusts; Execution of Wills; Express Private Trusts; Intestate Succession, and Revocation of Wills.

Wills, Trusts, and Estates: In Other Words Video Series by Ray Chao, Sheldon Lyke The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Wills, Trusts, and Estates lectures, Ray Chao gives an Introduction to Wills, Trusts, and Estates; Modification or Termination of Trusts; Trust Administration; Will Contests and Interpretation of Wills; Wills; and Will Substitutes. Sheldon Lyke explains Charitable Trusts; Execution of Wills; Express Private Trusts; Intestate Succession, and Revocation of Wills.

A Concise Restatement of Donative Transfers and Trusts by American Law Institute; Thomas P. Gallanis , American Law Institute; Thomas P. Gallanis, Compiler Concise Restatements, compilations of provisions from The American Law Institute's influential Restatements of the Law, provide a compact and comprehensive overview of the area of law they encompass. Condensing the seven volumes of the Restatement Third of Trusts and the Restatement Third of Property (Wills and Other Donative Transfers) into a single user-friendly volume, this Concise Restatement sets forth the black-letter principles of the law of trusts and estates, including relevant explanatory commentary and helpful illustrations that illuminate the law and the policies underlying it. This handy one-volume Concise Restatement is ideal for practitioner reference or for use as a supplement in law-school courses in trusts and estates. This title is a joint publication of the American Law Institute and West Academic Publishing; it was compiled and edited by Professor Thomas P. Gallanis of the University of Iowa, who served as an Associate Reporter for the Restatement Third of Trusts.

Trusts and Estates by Melanie Leslie; Stewart Sterk The Fourth Edition of Concepts and Insights on Trusts and Estates makes complex doctrinal rules easier to understand by exploring the history and rationale behind those rules. The analysis is thorough, and focuses both on common law doctrines and statutory reforms--with an emphasis on the Uniform Probate Code and the Uniform Trust Code. Each substantive chapter closes with a set of exam-like problems designed to test understanding of the material included in the chapter. The authors also include thorough solutions to each of these problems. This is the only book in the field that combines thorough doctrinal analysis with more than 60 review problems, each with complete solutions.