Study Aids & Exam Prep

Acing Intellectual Property by W. Robinson This study aid uses outline-like checklists to lead law students through the analytical steps necessary to analyze intellectual property issues. The book covers trademark, patent, copyright, and trade secret law. Each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of intellectual property law. The review material is followed by a checklist that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering intellectual property questions. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze intellectual property issues.

Examples and Explanations for Intellectual Property by Stephen M. McJohn A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Intellectual Property, Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell by Arthur Miller; Michael Davis; Dana Neacsu Authors emeritus professor Michael Davis and famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller provide authoritative coverage on the foundations of patents, trademarks, and copyright laws. Authoritative treatment of all relevant doctrines and the latest statutory and judicial changes, with up-to-date coverage provided by associate professor of legal research, Dana Neacşu. Text further addresses relevant torts, property, antitrust, regulatory, and federalism intersections with intellectual property law.

Lafrance's Copyright Law in a Nutshell by Mary LaFrance This product offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. This updated edition includes detailed analysis of the changes introduced by the Music Modernization Act of 2018, as well as the creation of the Copyright Claims Board. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.

Patent Law in a Nutshell by Randall Rader; Benjamin Christoff This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner's knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.

A Short and Happy Guide to Copyright by Michael D. Murray The Short and Happy Guide to Copyright is a succinct, enjoyable, and time-friendly text that is designed for you: To get up to speed on the biggest issues of copyright law, and the black letter law addressing those issues; To educate yourself as to your future clients' rights, potential liabilities, and options and opportunities regarding legal problems in copyright. Whether you plan to specialize in copyright or intellectual property, or simply want to be available to your firm or law office as an attorney who can take on a novel problem in an exciting and potentially high-profile and high-dollar-value area of your firm's or office's practice, this book will be useful to you; To provide a vocabulary of legal terms to use when consulting with lawyers, clients, accountants, financial planners, and insurers regarding copyright problems in the creative, entertainment, and scientific fields; To identify existing or potential legal problems in your clients' and your organization's practices. This guide will discuss a variety of areas in which exposure to legal liability or sanctions may present itself as a current or future problem based on your clients' practices and procedures. Don't let the small size fool you! This guide is full of useful information about copyright, but it also is designed to be fun.

Trademark and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell by Mark Janis This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity.

Understanding Copyright Law by Marshall Leaffer The seventh edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. In addition to including the latest case law developments, this edition incorporates the Music Modernization Act of 2018. The seventh edition covers all aspects of the MMA, a dazzling legislative overhaul of the musical copyright, which, among its other provisions, creates a new blanket license for digital deliveries and provides protection to pre-1972 sound recordings.

Understanding Intellectual Property Law by Tyler Ochoa; Shubha Ghosh; Mary LaFrance There have been a number of important developments in U.S. intellectual property law since the third edition of Understanding Intellectual Property Law was published. Congress enacted the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016 to provide a federal civil cause of action for misappropriation of trade secrets for the first time. It also enacted the Music Modernization Act of 2018, which extends the compulsory license for musical works by creating a blanket license for digital music providers and provides federal protection to sound recordings fixed before February 15, 1972. And, of course, courts continue to work through the implications of earlier statutory revisions, such as the landmark America Invents Act of 2011. The Supreme Court has remained active in reviewing intellectual property cases during the past four years, deciding eighteen patent cases, four copyright cases, and five trademark cases. In addition, the federal Courts of Appeals decided more than 1000 patent cases, 230 copyright cases, and nearly 300 trademark and false advertising cases during that time. Having been updated to reflect this new material, the fourth edition of Understanding Intellectual Property Law covers all of the intellectual property areas and issues likely to be addressed in an intellectual property survey course.

Understanding Trademark Law by Mary LaFrance This Understanding treatise is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to the law of trademarks and unfair competition. It provides a thorough introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses. "I really think this book is an excellent resource for trademark attorneys." -- Lisa Ramsey at USD School of Law

Questions and Answers: Intellectual Property by Gary Myers; Lee Ann Lockridge The questions and answers in this book cover the broad subject of "intellectual property" in a comprehensive way, targeted to an introductory or survey course. All of the major topics in this fascinating area of law are included--namely, trademark, the right of publicity, trade secret, patent, and copyright--and the coverage has been updated with major changes in the law through mid-2019. The key aspects of each of these areas are systematically addressed using the following organization--subject matter and validity, ownership and duration of rights, infringement and remedies, and defenses and limitations.

Intellectual Property: In Other Words Audio Series by Laura DeMetrick The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Intellectual Property lectures, Laura DeMetrick gives an Introduction to Intellectual Property and covers Acquiring Trademarks Through Use, Benefits of Federal Trademark Registration, Fair Use of Trademarks, Right of Publicity and the First Amendment, and Spectrum of Distinctiveness. Gwendolyn Poindexter covers Dilution, False Advertising, Functionality, Genericness, and Likelihood of Confusion.

Intellectual Property: In Other Words Video Series by Laura DeMetrick, Gwendolyn Poindexter The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Intellectual Property lectures, Laura DeMetrick gives an Introduction to Intellectual Property and covers Acquiring Trademarks Through Use, Benefits of Federal Trademark Registration, Fair Use of Trademarks, Right of Publicity and the First Amendment, and Spectrum of Distinctiveness. Gwendolyn Poindexter covers Dilution, False Advertising, Functionality, Genericness, and Likelihood of Confusion.

Myers's Law School Legends Audio on Intellectual Property by Gary Myers This audio book focuses on one of the most vibrant and important areas of the law — Intellectual Property. Intellectual Property offers legal protection for creative efforts by artists, musicians, moviemakers, architects, inventors, advertisers, brand developers, and more. This book surveys the entire field of Intellectual Property — copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, the right of publicity, and other laws that are relevant to this timely topic. The audio book approaches the central issues in a conversational style, focusing on all of the key questions that are on Intellectual Property exams: what is protected and what is not who owns the rights how the rights may be infringed defenses and limits on the rights, and remedies for Intellectual Property violations

Principles of Patent Law by Roger Schechter; John Thomas The new edition of this leading text on patent law is an indispensable tool for both students and practitioners. The authoritative exposition of the law includes thoughtful analysis of the intricacies of the America Invents Act, in-depth discussion of nearly twenty recent Supreme Court decisions on patent law, and thorough treatment of all the leading Federal Circuit precedents. The volume also contains detailed materials on international issues, trade secret law, and specialized topics including plant patents, design patents and the Hatch-Waxman Act. The accessible prose, numerous illustrative examples, and humorous asides make the book user-friendly even for those who lack previous exposure to the field.

Principles of Trademark Law by Roger Schechter; John Thomas This new volume hits the sweet spot of thorough and thoughtful coverage of trademark law without bogging readers down in minutiae and a blizzard of footnotes. Professors Schechter and Thomas, authors of multiple texts on IP law, have enlivened this volume with crisp prose, clever examples, and touches of humor. Materials on licensing and assignments, online trademark issues, and international topics augment the traditional discussion of trademark acquisition, validity, infringement, and dilution. The book would work well for end-of-semester review or as a supplementary text with, or substitute for, the usual casebook and will serve as a useful reference work for practitioners long after the course is over.