Study Aids & Exam Prep

Acing Evidence by Aviva Orenstein Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Beckman's a Short and Happy Guide to Evidence, 2d by Sydney Beckman This Second Edition to A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. It has been completely updated with new and revised graphics and charts and all current rules as of December 2020. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes the reader through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book the reader will finally understand the Hearsay Rule (it's true!). Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.

Black Letter Outline on Evidence by Christopher Mueller; Laird Kirkpatrick; Liesa Richter This outline examines and explains for students the Federal Rules of Evidence, which apply in federal courts and have been adopted (with some variation) in 45 of the 50 states. Included are citations and descriptions of authoritative cases commonly studied in Evidence courses across the country, and analyses the most important issues of construction and application that have arisen in the decades since the Rules were enacted for use in federal courts in 1975. This Black Letter Outline is designed to help law students recognize, understand, and apply basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses on the subject. It can be used as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject when studying for examinations. This Black Letter Outline was prepared by professors actively teaching Evidence law who are also accomplished authorities and authors of major texts, treatises, and coursebooks on Evidence law in use throughout the country.

Evidence in a Nutshell by Paul Rothstein; David Crump; Ronald Coleman The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.

Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell by Michael Graham The Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2020, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.

Myers's Quick Review on Evidence by John Myers Quick Review of Evidence is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of evidence clear and convenient, and to help students prepare for their law school exams and the bar exam. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for an evidence law school exam and an evidence question on the bar. The concise format provides a detailed, rule by rule analysis, as well as a "big picture" overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams and the bar.

The Glannon Guide to Evidence, Third Edition by Michael Avery The Glannon Guide to Evidence provides a practical, and theoretically solid, aid to learning the Federal Rules of Evidence. Straightforward explanations of the Rules and illustrative examples in down to earth language provide a supplement to an Evidence class that will remove any confusion as to how the Rules should be interpreted. Based on decades of trying cases and classroom teaching, Prof. Avery is familiar with the most common mistakes lawyers and students make in applying the Rules and has designed these materials to highlight typical errors and correct them. Each multiple-choice question has tempting, but incorrect, answer choices, and then an explanation in simple and direct language that clarifies the rule. The student who works through these questions will be well prepared for Evidence exams and courtroom challenges.

Examples and Explanations for Evidence, Thirteenth Edition by Arthur Best favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Understanding Evidence by Paul C. Giannelli, Jules Epstein Understanding Evidence is a dual audience text. It is meant to be a supplement to, or a primary textbook for, any law school evidence course; and it is also an essential reference book for any litigator. The main objective is captured in the title—to offer an understanding of the Rules of Evidence as applied, with the latest decisional law both explicating the principles and providing references students and practitioners can turn to. Written with an understanding of how evidence rules and issues play out in all stages of the litigation process, is at once scholarly in its depth and practical in its application. Because of its comprehensiveness, it stands out from other reference materials. The updated coverage in the sixth edition includes rule changes and cases through December 2022.

Emanuel CrunchTime for Evidence by Steven L. Emanuel When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

Exam Pro on Evidence (Essay) by Michael Graham Exam Pro-Essay is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Answering the sample essay exams and the specific subject matter essay questions, followed by review of the corresponding answers and analysis, provides students with a more thorough comprehension of the Federal Rules of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

Exam Pro on Evidence (Objective) by Michael Graham Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

Questions and Answers: Evidence by Paul Giannelli Questions and Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and on into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions and Answers series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams. This study guide includes over 455 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 98 "practice exam" questions. This edition includes questions on the latest Federal Rules of Evidence amendments and Supreme Court cases. For each multiple-choice question, there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less and includes a thoughtful and comprehensive, yet brief, model answer.

Evidence: In Other Words Audio Series by Elizabeth M. Bloom The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Evidence lectures, Elizabeth M. Bloom explains the topics of Confrontation Clause and Testimonial Hearsay Statements, Evidence, Hearsay Definitions under FRE 801(a)-(c), Hearsay Exceptions not Based on Declarant's Unavailability, Impeaching a Witness's Character for Truthfulness with Prior Convictions under FRE 609, Legal Relevance under FRE 403, Non-Character Use of Other Crimes, Wrongs, and Acts FRE 404(b), Past Recorded Recollections FRE 803(5), Reliability of Non-Scientific Expert Testimony FRE 702, and Rulings on Evidence under FRE 103.

Evidence: In Other Words Video Series by Elizabeth M. Bloom The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Evidence lectures, Elizabeth M. Bloom explains the topics of Confrontation Clause and Testimonial Hearsay Statements, Evidence, Hearsay Definitions under FRE 801(a)-(c), Hearsay Exceptions not Based on Declarant's Unavailability, Impeaching a Witness's Character for Truthfulness with Prior Convictions under FRE 609, Legal Relevance under FRE 403, Non-Character Use of Other Crimes, Wrongs, and Acts FRE 404(b), Past Recorded Recollections FRE 803(5), Reliability of Non-Scientific Expert Testimony FRE 702, and Rulings on Evidence under FRE 103.

Law School Legends Audio on Evidence by Ric Simmons his lecture series on Evidence is designed for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Evidence and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would like to gain a better understanding of what evidence is admissible in court. You can listen or study at your convenience – in the library, at home, walking or jogging, or driving in your car. These audio lectures are each approximately twenty minutes long. Each one covers a discrete aspect of Evidence law, so you can easily access the topics you want to learn or review. Coverage includes the topics of relevance, impeaching witnesses, character evidence, rape shield law, expert testimony, and privileges. The topic of hearsay and its numerous exceptions gets special attention. Each lecture begins with a clear, concise statement of the relevant legal principles and then explores the scope and nuances of the applicable rule with a series of examples that apply the rule in different situations.

Federal Rules of Evidence by Lexis Nexis The Federal Rules of Evidence were enacted in 1975 and govern the use of evidence at civil and criminal trials in United States federal trial courts. Many states have adopted the federal evidence rules or used them as a model with variances.

Principles of Evidence by Daniel Capra; Stephen Saltzburg This text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. The work is concise but complete. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The ninth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those taking effect in 2019 and the 2020 amendment of Rule 404(b). Dan Capra is the reporter, Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence, and Stephen Saltzburg served as a consultant.