Acing Business Associations by
This book provides a clear and concise explanation of corporations, agency and partnership, and the other subjects addressed in most Business Associations courses. To accompany its explanations, the guide utilizes a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask and issues they need to address, to fully evaluate the agency, partnership or corporations, problems they will face when studying this subject. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and organizes the critical issues, presenting a clear guide to analyze business associations issues that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.
Casenote Legal Briefs for Business Organizations, Keyed to Bainbridge by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Corporations by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Examples and Explanations for Corporations by
Informal and student-friendly, this best-selling study guide - recommended widely by professors in both Business Associations and Corporations courses - provides thematic coverage of the law of business organizations, beginning with agency and partnership law and focusing on corporations. Examples and Explanations for Corporations, Ninth Edition, combines clear text with examples and explanations that allow students to test their understanding of concepts and practice applying the law to real-life fact patterns. New to the Ninth Edition: Updates based on recent corporate statute revisions, including to the Delaware General Corporation Law and the Model Business Corporation Act (revised, 2016) New expanded materials on law of agency, with new examples and explanations focused on sole-proprietorship and agency law concepts tested on bar exams New expanded materials on partnership law, with summaries of cases used in leading casebooks and new examples and explanations on partnership law concepts tested on bar exams Expanded materials on comparisons of LLCs and corporations, including on the growth of LLCs, inspection rights, fiduciary duties, and oppression New materials on "purpose of the corporation," including the recent Business Roundtable statement on corporate purpose and hybrid-purpose benefit corporations New illustrations of flow-through tax treatment, based on recent changes to the Internal Revenue Code and tax rates for individuals and corporations New descriptions of dual-class voting structures, with illustrations of companies such as Google/Alphabet that have adopted such structures Updated description of shareholder activism and recent developments in use of shareholder proposal rule, including emergence of ESG investing and Blackrock's letters to CEOs Updates on regulation of securities offerings, including new exemptions for financial crowdfunding and mini-registrations under Regulation A+ Revised text on new cases claiming lapses in board oversight, including Delaware Supreme Court's decision in Marchand v. Barnhill Revised materials on Supreme Court decisions (including Lorenzo and In re Trulia) affecting the procedure and elements applicable to securities fraud class actions Revised text and examples on tipping liability in insider-trading cases, after Supreme Court's decision in US v. Salman New materials on recent Delaware M&A cases, including Kahn v. M&F Worldwide Corp. and Corwin v. KKR Financial Holdings, LLC
Gilbert Law Summaries on Corporations by
This outline clearly examines the full range of issues that arise in classes focused on business organizations. The central distinctions among business forms such as general and limited partnerships, limited liability corporations as well as close and public corporations. Both federal and state statutes that regulate the affairs of corporations are examined. The legal requirements for their formation, operation and management. Also includes shareholders' right to inspect records, shareholders' suits, capitalization, dividends, redemption of shares, fundamental changes in corporate structure, and applicable conflict of laws principles. Contemporary practices and legal provisions addressing corporate governance are described. Special attention is given to the fiduciary obligations of owners and managers as well as the governance rights of shareholders. The materials provide detailed coverage of the federal provisions addressing proxy solicitations, insider trading, disclosure requirements and the scope of the anti-fraud provision Rule 10b-5. The outline provides comprehensive treatment of a wide range of mergers and acquisition issues including the procedural requirements to effect acquisitions, the fiduciary obligations to defend and transfer control, and the intricate case law surrounding self-dealing acquisitions.
The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell by
Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation. It features numerous examples to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm, including the emergence of greater concerns for constituencies other than shareholders, as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law. It offers separate consideration of specialized issues raised in closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of recent case law, particularly about controlling shareholders and takeovers, the book offers detailed comparison of Delaware and other leading corporate law legislation. The book also covers relevant federal law, including Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b). Financial and accounting concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them.
A Short and Happy Guide to Business Organizations by
"Short and Happy"? This book is indeed "short" - much shorter than any other student guide. The reason is that other student guides are written to help you understand your business associations/organizations course, to get you through 42 or 56 class hours. This student guide is different. It is written to help you understand your prof's final exam questions - to get you through a 3 or 4 hour exam. Rather than teaching you how cases and concepts are applied in the real world, this book teaches you how cases and concepts need to be applied in the "unreal" world of law school exams. This is the book to read after you have spent the semester working on law review (Or was it clinic? Or client counseling competitions? Or Kundalini yoga? Or shape note singing?) instead of Business Associations.
Understanding Corporate Law by
Understanding Corporate Law, Fifth Edition, is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. It is a popular study guide for students and has been used by professors to supplement their casebook or as recommended reading. Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases and statutory provisions used in the study of corporations. It includes the major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature. In each chapter, the authors identify important policies and discuss the relationship of the law as it has developed to those policies. Statutory issues are addressed under both the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and the Revised Model Business Corporation Act. In addition, significant sections from the Principles of Corporate Governance of the American Law Institute are covered. The corporate scandals of 2001 and 2002, the enactment of the federal Sarbanes-Oxley (2002), Dodd-Frank (2010), JOBs (2012) Acts, and the financial crisis of 2008 are also covered. The rise of institutional shareholder ownership and its effect on legal developments is highlighted.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Corporations and Other Business Entities by
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Exam Pro on Business Associations, Objective by
Exam Pro-Objective on Business Associations is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Business Associations exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Business Associations and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Law School Legends Audio on Business Organizations by
With Law School Legends, students preparing for exams get a recognized law school professor explaining an entire subject in one clear, concise lecture. In these audio CDs, Professor David Epstein explains the important business associations concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how you can use the concepts to answer any question your professor might ask on your exam.
Office Hours on Business Organizations by
Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.
Corporate Law by
Many students find their Corporation Law class difficult because they do not understand the transactions giving rise to those cases. As with its predecessors, this fourth edition is intended to assist students by not only restating the law but also by putting the law into its business and financial context. The pedagogy is up-to-date, with a strong emphasis on the doctrinal issues taught in today's Corporations classes. The text is highly readable: The style is simple, direct, and reader-friendly. Even when dealing with complicated economic or financial issues, the text seeks to make those issues readily accessible. This new edition brings the material up-to-date with complete coverage of developments in both state corporate law and federal securities law.
Principles of Business Organizations by
The study of business organizations is, broadly speaking, a study of how people engage in business and, more importantly, how the law facilitates and regulates the operation of such businesses. Written in a clear and informative style, and chock full of examples and illustrations, this book examines the legal rules and doctrines associated with running a business--from formation to dissolution to everything in between. These rules and doctrines are explored within the context of the various organizational forms in which a business may be operated. Thus, reading this book will provide you with a solid grounding in the law of agency, general partnerships, corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies.
Use your CALI username & password to access these lessons. Email lawref@colorado.edu if you need to register for CALI.