Intellectual Property Research

Discusses how to find the correct effective date for important changes in the law, how the Act may be interpreted, and how the Act may affect your client.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Shows how to craft patent applications, partner with the government to bring patented inventions quickly to the marketplace, invalidate competitors' patents, protect against various forms of patent infringement, and successfully rebut charges that your clients are infringers. Includes detailed checklists.

Available on WestlawNext. Includes over 60 full-length agreements, with checklists and commentary, covering patent litigation in federal courts and administrative bodies.

Available on WestlawNext. Discusses the procedures for filing and prosecuting applications. Describes what must be included in an application and explains the fundamentals of preparing a disclosure, drafting claims, and submitting prior art under the new rules.

Available on Lexis Advance. Helps corporate and outside counsel understand the impact of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Includes analysis on the rolling effective dates of different provisions and guidance if companies should file patent applications while the old law is still in effect.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Guides legal professionals through all of the most crucial elements of any licensing agreement.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Covers claim construction and the special procedures that have evolved to accomplish such construction.

Available on Lexis Advance. Provides assistance in preparing patent applications.

Provides analysis of the patent process and provides the tools necessary to defend against patent litigation. Also available on Bloomberg Law.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Examines rejections from the U.S. Patent Office, and includes an analysis of the U.S. Patent Office's guidelines.

Examines the intersection between the statutory and regulatory scheme governing approval of generic pharmaceuticals and U.S. patent law in the context of Paragraph IV ANDA litigation.

Available on Lexis Advance. Provides detailed coverage of the procedure for patent and trademark cases on review in the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the U.S. District Courts.

Available on Lexis Advance. Topics covered include royalty bases and rates, domestic and foreign patent licensing, assignments, territorial limitations and duration, termination of agreements, antitrust, U.S. taxation of domestic and foreign patent transactions, and government and university licensing. Also includes forms.

Analyzes the relationship between industry interests and the research conducted in research laboratories. Also available on Bloomberg Law.

Available on Lexis Advance. Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims.

Available on Lexis Advance. Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims.

Available on Lexis Advance. Provides citations to cases that define specific words and phrases used in patent claims.

Provides important background and history as well as information on prosecution and litigation for patents, trademark, trade dress, unfair competition, trade secrets, and copyright. Includes information on how to handle various aspects of IP ranging from procurement to enforcement.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Provides discussions, analysis and planning behind every phase of patent infringement litigation, beginning with the initial client counseling through the filing of the Notice of Appeal.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Provides a detailed analysis of every stage of a patent case, from complaint to Federal Circuit appeal.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Discusses the legal framework governing patents, including federal regulations and court decisions; the widely accepted four-step test used by the courts to determine an invention's patentability; the various tests used to indicate direct infringement and other patent violations; and drafting techniques used to prepare the full variety of documents, including specifications and claims.

Provides clear and balanced instructions for presentation to juries on copyright, trademark, and trade dress litigation. Individual instructions are followed by commentary that includes discussion of the cases from which the instruction was derived, as well as how and when to adapt the instruction to particular cases, to the laws of particular states, to the requirements of particular jurisdictions, or in light of inconsistent authority.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Provides hundreds of adaptable sample licensing clauses and provisions.

Available on Lexis Advance. Discusses all stages of patent litigation; contains sample jury instructions; issues checklist and litigation forms. Offers tactical strategies for infringement suits and provides convenient checklists of black letter law for claim construction, infringement, validity, doctrine of equivalents and prosecution history estoppel.

Available on Lexis Advance. Built to give the general practitioner a tool in advising clients on various aspects of IP law. Each chapter covers a specific area of IP law in a way that someone unfamiliar with that area can quickly get up to speed and advise clients.

Offers suggestions for streamlining case management. Includes Supreme Court and Federal Circuit decisions. Discusses the ramifications of the America Invents Act for patent case management. Also available at the Federal Judicial Commission.

Available on WestlawNext. Explains the major substantive patent law revisions, addresses major changes affecting litigation, reviews the four new trial proceedings at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, addresses changes to non-trial submissions of prior art and other information to the USPTO, and focuses on the remaining changes to USPTO practice and miscellaneous provisions of the America Invents Act.

Addresses the drafting of business-method and software patents in the wake of Bilski v. Kappos. Includes a review and analysis of all relevant case law and USPTO guidelines.

Available on WestlawNext. Takes the user through the correct procedures of the pre-America Invents Act interference process and details the new procedures that are a part of the AIA.

Available on Lexis Advance. Addresses how to recover monetary compensation when an infringement has occurred and how to prevent further infringement.

Available on Lexis Advance. Discusses cybersquatting, IP licensing, patents, copyright, and trade secret protection. Also includes warnings, practice tips, checklists, and forms.

Explains, analyzes, and illustrates all the essential principles and techniques of drafting solid patent applications.

Available on WestlawNext. Includes tips for evaluating a claim, strategies for patent damage litigation, and discovery techniques.

Presents a comprehensive approach to analyzing inventions and capturing them in a sophisticated set of patent claims.

Available on WestlawNext. Covers procedural and evidentiary issues that arise in patent and trade secret disputes and litigation.

Available on WestlawNext. Starts with the principles of patent law and patent infringement and then adds the principles of FDA regulatory law. Discusses issues surrounding every aspect of generic drug development, approval, and litigation.

Available on WestlawNext. Contains forms related to patents, copyrights, trademarks, and entertainment industry agreements.

Available on Lexis Advance. Explains each step of the patent infringement process, from a finding of infringement to a determination of damages. Examines how awards of damages are treated under accounting rules, and discusses the admissibility of evidence from expert witnesses respecting damages.