Intellectual Property Research

Available on Lexis Advance. Analysis of developments in patent law and the effects of these developments on current and future practice.

Dictionary that includes more than 2,000 terms and concepts related to patent law. Each term or concept includes references to relevant case law. Also available on WestlawNext.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Coverage ranges from the basics of how the domain name system works to updated analysis of jurisdictional issues.

Available on Lexis Advance. Examines issues that arise at the intersection of bankruptcy law and intellectual property law.

Also available on Bloomberg Law. Provides an analysis of all of the most important Federal Circuit and Supreme Court decisions in the field.

33-volume treatise on patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law on issues related to patentability, validity and infringement. Also available on Lexis Advance.

Available on Lexis Advance. Contains concise summaries of precedential patent related decisions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the United States Supreme Court from 2008 through 2015 (with two June 2016 Supreme Court decisions).

Focuses on crafting rules that anticipate the bargaining that will occur as patent rights unfold. Discusses difficult issues in patent law, such as whether genes, software, and business methods constitute patentable subject matter, whether patents in the life sciences should control inventions that have yet to be discovered, and how to resolve the battles between pharmaceutical companies and generics.

Provides thorough treatment of complex material. Includes detailed citations.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Includes a break-down and analysis of important, influential, and up-to-date case law.

Looks at patent misuse and presents a qualitative analysis of modern misuse case law spanning 1953 to 2012.

Available on WestlawNext. Covers the history and evolution of patent claims and includes statutory requirements for claims, general rules of construction of claims, and the expansion of the patented claims beyond their literal terms. Also explains the limitations of claims by court interpretation, the general principles underlying the drafting of United States claims to secure adequate protection, statutory classes of inventions, and the selection of claims.

Defines patent, trademark, and copyright terms of art and uses them in context. The encyclopedia also analyzes relevant cases and statutes and provides citations to more cases and IP treatises.

Available on WestlawNext. Includes synopses of recent decisions by the PTO's Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Analyzes changes in the rules of practice before the PTO.

This multi-volume treatise provides in-depth analytical treatment of patent law. Also available on WestlawNext.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Examines both patent law and food and drug laws.

Explores the issue of patenting medical and genetic diagnostic methods in the United States. Examines decisions of the Patent Office Boards of Appeal and the early courts on the question of whether medical treatments were eligible for patent protection under section 101 of the Patents Act.