International Arbitration Vis Moot

United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) is the law governing cross-border sale of goods among the majority of the world’s trading nations.   Pace Law School and the Institute of International Commercial Law (IICL) maintain the CISG Database to promote cross-border trade and the rule of law. 

CISG (Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods) Database
This database covers cases from multiple jurisdictions that interpret and apply the CISG, with more than 10,000 case abstracts and over 3,000 full-text opinions.  It contains some decisions issued by arbitral tribunals. 

• The database is free to access, but you must must register and create an account a free account.  You must be logged in to your account in order to run searches and download content.
• The search template for case law recognizes Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).  Searches may be limited by jurisdiction and/or by CISG article number.
• The annotated texts of CISG articles provide convenient links to relevant legislative (drafting) history documents, as well as links to secondary sources that explain and interpret each article.

CISG-online:

• It identifies 97 contracting states world-wide. 
• It includes case law interpreting and applying the CISG in courts and arbitral proceedings.
• Current coverage:   6439 decisions (5532 court decisions from 70 jurisdictions and 907 arbitral awards)

Support by the Faculty of Law of the University of Basel (Switzerland). 

You may:

• Search for cases
• See the Text of the Convention
• Examine CISG article by article
• Examine CISG by goods traded
• Find legislative history (travaux preparatoires). 

UNILEX provides opportunities for you to search case abstracts (where available) and a bibliography of resources commenting on CISG.

Note: UNILEX is based on a research project started in 1992 by the Centre for Comparative and Foreign Law Studies – a joint venture of the Italian National Research Council, the University of Rome I “La Sapienza”, and the International Institute for the Unification of Private Law (UNIDROIT). The project has been financed by the Italian National Research Council. 

The UNILEX site also identifies which states act as contracting parties to CISG, their dates of ratification and accessions, as well as texts of reservations

Cases: 

You may search by date, country, arbitral award, article and issues

Bibliography

You may search by author, article, area or subject

UNCITRAL also provides a digest of case law applying CISG.  

Here is a link to the 2016 Edition.