In the more than a decade since the enactment of the Affordable Care Act, questions about the law continue to be vigorously debated. What political dynamics led to its passage? Why has it been subject to so many existential threats? What accounts for its survival and growth? How can its performance best be evaluated? Addressing these questions, James Brasfield eschews partisan rhetoric to provide an in-depth discussion of the politics and policy of the ACA - from its origins to the present - assess the success of the law in achieving its goals, and project possible future scenarios.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .B75 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
America's Bitter Pill is Steven Brill's narrative of how the Affordable Care Act, or Obamacare, was written, how it is being implemented, and, most important, how it is changing--and failing to change--the rampant abuses in the healthcare industry.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .C66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
The Affordable Care Act debate was one of the most important and most public examinations of the Constitution in our history. At the forefront of that debate were the bloggers of the Volokh Conspiracy who, from before the law was even passed, engaged in a spirited, erudite, and accessible discussion of the legal issues involved in the case.
A Different Perspective on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act provides a brief history of health insurance within the United States, offering an accessible perspective on the highly contentious ACA. This book traces the political and financial conditions that led to the enactment of the ACA. Thoroughly researched, A Different Perspective on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act details the drastic increase of health care expenditures in both state legislatures and the federal government, the fiscal strain experienced throughout the nation, and the main objectives of President Barack Obama's 2010 healthcare reform plan.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .G85 2015
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
The title provides the history, structure, and theoretical framework of the ACA, explores the role of funding as a part of the ACA incentivization, and concludes with a discussion of health policy development and the future.
Call Number: LAW COURSE RESERVE Public Health Law & Ethics (O'Rourke)
Publication Date: 2016-01-25
Not five minutes after the ACA was signed into law, in March 2010, Virginia's attorney general was suing to stop it. Obamacare Wars shows how the law's intergovernmental structure, which entails the participation of both the federal government and the states, has deeply shaped the politics of implementation. Focusing on the creation of insurance exchanges, the expansion of Medicaid, and execution of regulatory reforms, the authors examine how opponents of the ACA fought back against its implementation. They also explain why opponents of the law were successful in some efforts and not in others--and not necessarily in a seemingly predictable red vs. blue pattern. Looking broadly at national trends and specifically at the experience of individual states, Obamacare Wars brings much-needed clarity to highly controversial but little-understood aspects of the ACA's odyssey, with implications for how we understand the future trajectory of health reform, as well as the multiple forms of federalism in American politics.
Available on HeinOnline. Government Accountability Office reports regarding the ACA, including "Microsimulation models predicted little near-term change in employer-sponsored coverage, but other studies and employer surveys varied more widely";" Differences in key assumptions and consideration of PPACA provisions likely contributed to variation in estimates among studies using similar techniques"; and "Employer surveys suggest that PPACA may have a larger effect on small employers and certain employee populations and prompt some employers to change benefit designs."
Jonathan Cohn's The Ten Year War is the definitive account of the battle over Obamacare, based on interviews with sources who were in the room, from one of the nation's foremost healthcare journalists.The Affordable Care Act, better known as "Obamacare," was the most sweeping and consequential piece of legislation of the last half century. It has touched nearly every American in one way or another, for better or worse, and become the defining political fight of our time. In The Ten Year War, veteran journalist Jonathan Cohn offers the compelling, authoritative history of how the law came to be, why it looks like it does, and what it's meant for average Americans. Drawn from hundreds of hours of interviews, plus private diaries, emails and memos, The Ten Year War takes readers to Capitol Hill and to town hall meetings, inside the West Wing and, eventually, into Trump Tower, as the nation's most powerful leaders try to reconcile pragmatism and idealism, self-interest and the public good, and ultimately two very different visions for what the country should look like. At the heart of the book is the decades-old argument over what's wrong with American health care and how to fix it. But the battle over healthcare was always about more than policy. The Ten Year War offers a deeper examination of how our governing institutions, the media and the two parties have evolved, and the dysfunction those changes have left in their wake.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .K67 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
The legal challenge to the ACA, and the Supreme Court's decision to uphold the law, is quite possibly the most momentous Supreme Court case on the issue of federal power in our era. Yet, despite the Court's ruling, the issue of health care reform is still an incredibly divisive issue. For the left, the federal government has the power to regulate interstate commerce, and the health insurance industry surely falls under the definition of interstate commerce. For conservatives, the individual mandate is the core of the plan, and it represents an egregious erosion of individual rights and liberties. Andrew Koppelman thinks that the constitutional arguments against it are spurious and explains why in this book. After walking readers through the 125-year modern history of Supreme Court cases dealing with the regulation of commerce, Koppelman tackles the arguments for and against the law. He contends that the New Deal established that that federal government had broad power over interstate commerce. If most commerce in a modern, complex economy like the US amounts to interstate commerce - as case law currently holds - then surely health care, which constitutes one sixth of the economy and is dominated by an insurance industry that crosses state lines, is interstate commerce too. The book closes with an analysis of the final decision.
Ten years after the landmark legislation, Ezekiel Emanuel leads a crowd of experts, policy-makers, doctors, and scholars as they evaluate the Affordable Care Act's history so far. In March 2010, the Affordable Care Act officially became one of the seminal laws determining American health care. From day one, the law was challenged in court, making it to the Supreme Court four separate times. It transformed the way a three-trillion-dollar sector of the economy behaved and brought insurance to millions of people. It spawned the Tea Party, further polarized American politics, and affected the electoral fortunes of both parties. Ten years after the bill's passage, a constellation of experts--insiders and academics for and against the ACA--describe the momentousness of the legislation. Encompassing Democrats and Republicans, along with legal, financial, and health policy experts, the essays here offer a fascinating and revealing insight into the political fight of a generation, its consequences for health care, politics, law, the economy-and the future.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .B53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
Foreword by Randy E. Barnett. In 2012, the United States Supreme Court became the center of the political world. In a dramatic and unexpected 5-4 decision, Chief Justice John Roberts voted on narrow grounds to save the ACA, commonly known as Obamacare. This book tells the inside story of how the challenge to Obamacare raced across all three branches of government, and narrowly avoided a constitutional collision between the Supreme Court and President Obama. It reads like a political thriller, provides the definitive account of how the Supreme Court almost struck down President Obama's "unprecedented" law, and explains what this decision means for the future of the Constitution, the limits on federal power, and the Supreme Court.
Call Number: LAW STACKS 1st floor KF 3605 .B533 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Six years after its enactment, Obamacare remains one of the most controversial, divisive, and enduring political issues in America. In this much-anticipated follow-up to Unprecedented (2013), Josh Blackman argues that, to implement the law, President Obama has broken promises about cancelled insurance policies, exceeded the traditional bounds of executive power, and infringed on religious liberty. At the same time, conservative opponents have stopped at nothing to unravel Obamacare, including a three-week government shutdown, four Supreme Court cases, and fifty repeal votes. This legal thriller provides the definitive account of the battle to stop Obamacare from being 'woven into the fabric of America'. Unraveled is essential reading to understand the future of the Affordable Care Act in America's gridlocked government in 2016, and beyond.
This work focuses primarily on, and endeavors to explain, ACA Titles I, IX and X, i.e., provisions that are aimed at expanding health coverage through the imposition of mandates on individuals (i.e., to obtain and maintain individual or group health plan coverage) and on employers (to provide coverage or pay an assessment to the government); and on the creation of a system of state-based health insurance exchanges to facilitate access by individuals and small groups to affordable health coverage. For the most part, these provisions amend existing laws to serve the Affordable Care Act's broader goals and purposes. These are also the provisions that are of greatest interest to employers, employer-sponsored group health plans, and state-licensed carriers, and their advisors, among others.
Available on Westlaw. Provides access to Health Law Cases, Statutes and Court Rules, Regulations, Secondary Sources, Forms, Briefs, Trial Court Documents, Expert Materials, Proposed & Enacted Legislation, and Current Proposed and Adopted Regulations. In addition, the Legislative History is provided in addition to Tools and Resources and News.
Available on Bloomberg Law. Goes through the ACA section by section providing a summary of the subject matter, the administrative activities that have taken place, and links to applicable analysis and commentary available on BNA Insights.
This report was prepared in 2009 by the Library of Congress and provide examples of differing legislative approaches to providing health care to cover all residents or all uninsured residents. The report includes the prior experimental models of government comprehensive health care legislation from Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont.