Research Guides: Environmental Law: Non-Legal Research

Non-Legal Research

In addition to understanding the law, practitioners of environmental law often need to be able to access and use a variety of scientific information. These are some of the important sources for science related to environmental law.

Academic Search Premier on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier on EBSCOhost is a multi-disciplinary database providing citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,140 journals, and includes full text from over 3,430 journals
ASTDR ToxFAQs This link opens in a new window
Information about contaminants found at hazardous waste sites (overview)
ATSDR ToxPROFILES This link opens in a new window
Information about contaminants found at hazardous waste sites (more depth)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
CU University Libraries Guide to Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
A guide to researching environmental science and policy within the CU University Library System
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
A free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts in environmental sciences
EPA ECOTOX This link opens in a new window
Single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife
EPA Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) This link opens in a new window
Data on disposal or other releases of over 600 toxic chemicals from thousands of U.S. facilities and information about how facilities manage those chemicals
Federal Environmental Data Finders This link opens in a new window
List of Data Finders found across the federal government that provide downloadable data that is relevant to environmental analyses
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) This link opens in a new window
Agricultural chemical usage reports, chemical use information, as well as links to the Census of Agriculture
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) This link opens in a new window
Government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards This link opens in a new window
Information on several hundred chemicals/classes for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases