It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for researching U.S. Environmental Law in the library and online
Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides a foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of various areas, from acid rain and atomic energy, to waste disposal and wetlands. Touches upon the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 3775 .W45 2013
This Understanding treatise provides a comprehensive overview of environmental and land use law in the United States. While a major focus of Understanding Environmental Law, Third Edition (2013) is the federal framework of U.S. environmental law, many chapters include coverage of state-specific laws as well.
A favorite among students—and often recommended by professors—the Examples & Explanations series introduces major concepts and provides examples mirroring those presented in the classroom. Early on in a course, use to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals, as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. Examples and Explanations: Environmental Law, 7E is a rich text that can be used by students and professors alike. It is the foundation for any environmental or energy law course, and it also covers land-use and international environmental law in separate chapters. New material augments the existing coverage of climate change regulation, the Clean Power Plan, new air and water regulation cases and policies, and recent court determinations on energy law at both federal and state levels. No other book so thoroughly integrates energy law into environmental law, which provides professors with multiple options in every environmental subject area and provides a rock-solid foundation for students. The Seventh Edition has been thoroughly updated as of 2016 with coverage of several key Supreme Court and Circuit Court opinions. This new version of Environmental Law: Examples and Explanations is a valuable and cost-effective paperback addition to any environmental, energy, or land use law course or as a way to expose non-law students to environmental law, policy, and regulation. Features: Coverage of the newly proposed Clean Power Plan. Updated analysis of recent Supreme Court decisions upholding some EPA air regulation and remanding others, including CSAPR and MATS regulations. New federalism coverage of energy law conflicts between the federal and state government regulation of fossil and renewable energy under the Commerce Clause and the Supremacy Clause. Coverage of the confusing and conflicting array of recent Superfund waste remediation decisions on cost recovery and allocation after the Atlantic Research and BNSF Supreme Court decisions. New coverage of environmental equity concerns in different statutes and policies. Coverage of the latest COP Kyoto climate policy developments and common law climate cases. New coverage of standing and administrative discretion regarding environmental regulation.
Environmental law has a tremendous amount of legal jargon and scientific terminology. Consult a specialized dictionary for clarification:
Covering environmental and occupational legal terms, this work gives answers to your questions about legal terms that are crucial to compliance with environmental laws. It provides references directing you to related information in environmental codes and manuals. It also includes radioactive waste-related environmental definitions from 10 CFR.