American Indian Histories and Cultures
This online collection contains a digitized version of the Edward E. Ayer Collection from the Newberry Library, containing manuscripts, artwork, speeches, diaries and historic maps dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-twentieth century.
American Indian Movement, 1968-1978
This primary source set from the Digital Public Library of America contains primary documents related to the work of the American Indian Movement, an American Indian advocacy group organized to address issues related to sovereignty, leadership, and treaties.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection (University of Washington Libraries)
This digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures is complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967-1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. The collection includes the original tapes on which the interviews were recorded, as well as microfiche copies of the typescripts.
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains
Digitized from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana, this collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940s.
Indigenous Law Web Archive (Library of Congress)
A digital catalog of Indigenous law resources at the Library of Congress.
Labriola National American Indian Data Center
This collection brings together the current and historical work of Indigenous authors, featuring thousands of books, journals, Native Nation newspapers and primary source materials, such as photographs, oral histories and manuscript collections.
This is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers and also serves as a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. Along with thousands of audio entries, the collection contains cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents. Whenever possible, examples of documents in the Ojibwe language are provided.
Rebuilding Indian Country (The National Archives Catalog)
A 1933 film from the Department of the Interior.
Sequoya National Research Center
The University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s Sequoyah National Research Center constitutes the largest assemblage of Native American expression in the world, with a mission to preserve the written word and art of Native Americans.
The Indigenous Digital Archive
Contains 500,000 archival documents exploring the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
This is a digitized collection of nine treaties ratified between 1722 and 1805 to complete the 366 treaties included in Charles J. Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties.
Developed for Montana’s Indian Nations, for the citizens of the state, and for educators and students, this portal brings together documents such as tribal court opinions, constitutions, water rights compacts, gaming compacts, fish and game regulations, and codes.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project (University of Oklahoma)
A project between the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library to provide access to constitutions, tribal codes, and other legal documents.
Tribal Law Exchange Project (University of Idaho)
This project aims to create a nationwide, web-accessible electronic database of tribal court opinions, tribal codes and constitutions, and related legal materials.
Tribal Law Gateway - Native American Rights Fund
This index contains tribal law materials organized alphabetically by tribe.
U.S. Department of the Interior -Office of the Solicitor - SOLICITORS OPINIONS
These opinions represent the DOI's interpretation of particular laws and give legal guidance to the DOI Secretary and other officials before taking final agency action.
American Indian Law - Research Guides at Harvard Library
Provides guidance on using resources at Harvard Law School Library on researching legal issues relating to Native Americans, Alaska Natives and other peoples indigenous to North America.
American Indian Resource Center (Tulsa City-County Library)
Provides guidance on using resources at Tulsa City-County Library's American Indian Resource Center, one of only two centers in public libraries across the nation that provides cultural, educational and informational resources, activities and services highlighting the American Indian culture.
Annotated Bibliography of Federal and Tribal Law: Print and Internet Sources
This bibliography, authored by Marilyn K. Nicely at the University of Oklahoma Law Library, contains resources on researching federal and tribal law.
Indian & Tribal Law Research (University of Washington Gallagher Law Library)
Provides resources for Indian law research found in the Gallagher Law Library.
Published by the National Indian Law Library, this current awareness service provides succinct and timely information about new developments in Indian law.
Indian Tribal Codes: A Microfiche Collection (1988)
A digital index to the microfiche collection of Indian tribal codes at the Gallagher Law Library.
National Indian Law Library (NILL)
Containing popular resources at the National Indian Law Library of the Native American Rights Fund.
Native American Law (Penn State Dickinson Law School)
Provides guidance on using resources at the Montague Law Library at Dickinson Law School.
Native American Law Center (University of Washington School of Law)
Provides guidance on using resources at the Native American Law Center at the University of Washington School of Law.
National American Indian Court Judges Association
Established in 1969, NAICJA is a national association comprised of tribal justice personnel & others devoted to supporting and strengthening tribal justice systems through education, information sharing, and advocacy.
National Congress of American Indians
Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
National Indian Justice Center
Established in 1983 to provide an independent national resource for Native communities and tribal governments, the NIJC delivers legal education, research and technical assistance programs that improve the quality of life for Native communities and the administration of justice in Indian country.
National Native American Heritage Month
In 1990, President George H. W. Bush approved a joint resolution designating November 1990 “National American Indian Heritage Month.” This website, a collaboration of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, provides resources related to the commemoration of Native American heritage.
Native American Rights Fund (NARF)
Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation. It focuses on applying existing laws and treaties to guarantee that national and state governments live up to their legal obligations.
Office of Tribal Justice (Department of Justice)
Initially formed in 1995, the OTJ is the Department of Justice's principal point of contact to listen to the concerns of Indian Tribes and other parties interested in Indian affairs and to communicate the Department's policies to the Tribes and the public; to promote internal uniformity of Department of Justice policies and litigation positions relating to Indian country; and to coordinate with other Federal agencies and with State and local governments on their initiatives in Indian country.
Native Americans and the Law: Native Americans Under Current United States Law
This essay from Lindsay G. Robertson, Professor of Law at the University of Oklahoma, explores the intersection of tribal governments with federal law.
Tribal Writers Digital Library
Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the Native Writers Digital Text Project at the Sequoyah National Research Center brings the works of Native poets and writers to a worldwide audience.
Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice
A LibGuide companion to Frank Pommersheim's Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice.
Whatever Tribal Precedent There May Be': The (Un)Availability of Tribal Law
Written by Bonnie J. Shucha, Director of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Law Library, this article explores the costs and benefits of publishing tribal law.
Facebook 
Twitter 
YouTube 
RSS