Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Frugal Legal Research

This guide presents a number of free sources of legal information, organized by category. It also includes some low-cost alternatives for attorneys seeking more frugal legal research tools.

Federal

Congress.Gov - United States Legislative Information
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns. Consult Coverage Dates for Legislative Information for the specific update schedules and start date for each collection. Congressional documents from the first 100 years of the U.S. Congress (1774-1875) can be accessed through A Century of Lawmaking.


Cornell's Legal Information Institute
This collection is intended to make the law more available to the public.  It includes a wide variety of legal resources, such as the US Constitution, the US Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Rules, Select Supreme Court decisions, and many state resources as well.


Federal Digital System (FDsys)
The Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides government information in both text and PDF format. It includes U.S. bills, laws, congressional documents, the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations and thousands of other federal government publications. (Formerly GPO Access)


Founder's Constitution
Provides documents important to understanding the arguments made by the drafters of the Constitution, as well as the intellectual context of those arguments.  Includes debates, articles, and early judicial decisions, all keyed to the relevant clause of the Constitution.

Justia
Justia provides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information, including federal dockets and filings.

United States House of Representatives

Colorado

Colorado General Assembly
The General Assembly includes two legislative bodies: the House of Representatives and the Senate. With careful deliberation that involves public hearings and, at times, vigorous debate, the two chambers enact new laws and revise or abolish existing laws; draft and approve the state government’s annual budget; and oversee the various state departments that deliver services to the people of Colorado. This website includes the same searchable database that legislators use to find every bill introduced in the House or Senate over the last 15 years; other searchable databases for the Colorado Constitution and Colorado Revised Statutes, with laws dating back to the state’s founding in 1876; descriptions of the roles and activities of the legislative committees that scrutinize every bill; contact information for state legislators and maps of their districts; and information for visitors to the State Capitol in Denver.

Colorado Local Government Codes
From Municode.

Colorado Legal Help Center
Connects Colorado’s unrepresented litigants to legal information, practical resources, and contact information for assistance with legal issues.


For detailed information on researching Colorado administrative law, including free resources, please see our guide on Colorado Administrative Law Research.

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS