Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free and Frugal Legal Research

This guide presents a number of free sources of legal information, organized by category. It also includes some low-cost alternatives for attorneys seeking more frugal legal research tools.

Case Law

Federal Digital System (FDsys)
The Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides government information in both text and PDF format. It includes federal court opinions, bills, statutes, congressional documents, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations and thousands of other federal government publications.


FindLaw Cases & Codes
Contains a listing of links to federal and state cases and codes on the Internet.


Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature and cases. Sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Justia
Justia provides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information, including federal dockets and filings.

PACER
Public Access to Court Electronic Records. Please see reference librarian for assistance.


Public Library of Law
This is a free service created by Fastcase with the intention to make searching the law easier.  It includes case law from the Supreme Court and the Courts of Appeals, decisions from state courts dating back to the late 90's, federal and state statutory law, and regulations.

United States Supreme Court
Cases can sometimes also be accessed directly from the relevant court's website.


You can find federal court websites in the USCourts.gov directory, and state court websites in the National Center for State Courts directory.

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS