Research Guides: 1L Subject Study Guides: Constitutional Law

Introduction

This required course focuses on constitutional structure, including judicial review, federalism, separation of powers, and constitutional rights of due process and equal protection.

Audio & Video Study Aids

1L year is busy, and it is understandable if you do not have the time to read additional study materials. Luckily, Wolters Kluwer and West Academic have some great audio and video study aids you can listen to. Here are a couple of good resources:

Study Guides

Acing Constitutional Law by Russell L. Weaver; Steven Friedland
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 A25 2010
ISBN: 0314181350
Publication Date: 2010-03-10
Uses checklists to guide students through solving constitutional problems and “Points to Remember” to reinforce key concepts.
Constitutional Analysis in a Nutshell by Thomas E. Baker
Call Number: KF4550 .B34 2019i electronic
Publication Date: 2019
Highly recommended study aid that provides easy-to-understand explanations and hypotheticals of constitutional concepts. Available through West Academic. (Make sure to log into the VPN, if you are off campus)
Constitutional Law by Christopher N. May; Allan Ides; Simona Grossi
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .M29 2022
ISBN: 9781543850871
Publication Date: 2022
Study guide that provides a short introduction to constitutional law topics with example fact patterns and analysis sprinkled throughout. A great way to learn and review material.

Available online Constitutional Law--Individual Rights, Examples and Explanations. If you are off-campus, you will have to login through the VPN first; see instructions here.

Constitutional Law by Erwin Chemerinsky
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 C44 2015
ISBN: 1454849479
Publication Date: 2015-05-20
Often called the definitive Con Law supplement, Chemerinsky provides a thorough and approachable guide to help with understanding the material or providing a firmer grasp of the concepts.
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by Jerome Barron
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 B35 2017
ISBN: 1634596234
Publication Date: 2016-12-09
Much smaller constitutional study guide both in size and the extent of the material. Provides general principles and essential elements.
Constitutional Law Stories, 2d by Michael C. Dorf
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4549 .C658 2009
ISBN: 1599411695
Publication Date: 2009-07-08
Dorf's Constitutional Law Stories provides the background and analysis of fifteen seminal constitutional law cases, including Marbury v. Madison, McCulloch v. Maryland, and Roe v. Wade amongst others. Constitutional Law Stories serves as a great supplement to help flesh out and understand constitutional law concepts.
The Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law by Brannon Padgett Denning
Call Number: KF 4550 .Z9 D46 2019i electronic
ISBN: 9781543806984
Publication Date: 2019
Organized around multiple choice questions, the Glannon Guide provides a brief introduction to the material and concise explanations regarding the answers. (Log into VPN to access the electronic resource if you are off campus)

Available online at aspenlaw.com: Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law. If you are off-campus, you will have to login through the VPN first; see instructions here.

Inside Constitutional Law by Russell L. Weaver; Wendy Brown-Scott; Steven I. Friedland; Catherine Hancock; Donald E. Lively
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 I53 2015
ISBN: 145481098X
Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Covers the essential Constitutional Law topics with multiple road-maps (including FAQs, summaries, and sidebars) throughout to ensure understanding of the material.

Available online at Inside Constitutional Law. If you are off-campus, you will have to login through the VPN first; see instructions here.

Mastering Constitutional Law by John C. Knechtle; Christopher J. Roederer
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 K64 2015
ISBN: 1611633990
Publication Date: 2015-02-09
Chapters begin with a roadmap to guide students through the topics and end with checkpoints summarizing the chapter to allow for a quick review.
Hornbook on Constitutional Law by John E. Nowak; Ronald D. Rotunda
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .N6 2010
ISBN: 0314195998
Publication Date: 2009-11-05
Provides in-depth discussion of major constitutional law concepts, including judicial review, the federal commerce power, and the commerce clause amongst others.
Principles of Constitutional Law by Ronald Rotunda; John Nowak
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .N62 2016
ISBN: 1628101199
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
A more concise version of the Nowak Constitutional Law Hornbook found above. Still covers the major constitutional law concepts.
Questions and Answers by Paul E. McGreal; Linda S. Eads; Charles W. Rhodes
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .Z9 M34 2017
ISBN: 0769860591
Publication Date: 2017-01-18
Series of multiple choice questions organized by topic with thorough explanations of answers.
American Constitutional Law by Laurence H. Tribe
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .T785 1999
ISBN: 1566627141
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Provides an in-depth discussion of major constitutional concepts with relevant and helpful case citations and secondary source references. There is no Volume 2, however, and it was published in 2000, so there are none of the more recent cases that you may cover in class.
Understanding Constitutional Law by John Attanasio; Joel K. Goldstein
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 4550 .R43 2012
ISBN: 076984734X
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Understanding Constitutional Law provides an overview of key constitutional concepts and issues. Students say it is most helpful at the beginning of the course.

1L Subject Study Guides

Need Help?

Contact Us

Introduction

Audio & Video Study Aids

Study Guides