Research Guides: 1L Subject Study Guides: Torts

Introduction

The required torts course is the study of the nonconsensual allocation of losses for civil wrongs, focusing primarily on the concepts of negligence and strict liability.

Audio & Video Study Aids

1L year is busy, and it is understandable if you do not have the time to read additional study materials. Luckily, Wolters Kluwer and West Academic have some great audio and video study aids you can listen to. Here are a couple of good resources:

Subject Guides

Acing Tort Law by Shubha Ghosh
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 G46 2012
ISBN: 0314279970
Publication Date: 2012-08-09
Acing Tort Law uses a checklist to guide students through the material then provides summaries for review.
The Law of Torts by Dan B. Dobbs; Paul T. Hayden; Ellen M. Bublick
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .D63 2011p
ISBN: 0314184244
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Thorough up-to-date analysis of tort law, including citations to decided cases for further review if needed.
Mastering Tort Law by Russell L. Weaver; Edward. C. Martin; Andrew R. Klein; Paul J. Zwier; John H. Bauman
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 M287 2016
ISBN: 1611634415
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Contains brief explanation sections followed by one or two multiple choice questions designed to review the topic.

Available online at aspenlaw.com: Glannon Guide to Torts. If you are off-campus, you will have to login through the VPN first; see instructions here.

Harper, James and Gray on Torts by Flower V. Harper; Fleming James
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .H373
ISBN: 0735551596
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
The six-volume set provides detailed guidance on torts, including updates on rapidly changing areas. Very in-depth treatise. Includes a 2018 Supplement.
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by Joseph W. Glannon
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 G53 2020
ISBN: 1543807690
Publication Date: 2020
Designed to complement your casebook, the Examples & Explanations titles use a conversational style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.

Available online at aspenlaw.com: Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts. If you are off-campus, you will have to login through the VPN first; see instructions here.

Mastering Tort Law by Russell L. Weaver; Edward. C. Martin; Andrew R. Klein; Paul J. Zwier; John H. Bauman
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 M287 2016
ISBN: 1611634415
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Provides a roadmap before every chapter and a checklist after for students to review.
Torts by John C. P. Goldberg; Benjamin C. Zipursky
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 G65 2010
ISBN: 0195373979
Publication Date: 2010-06-03
Highly rated supplement that focuses on Torts as a way to address wrongs and contains a strong and thorough negligence section.
Torts by William L. Prosser; Page Keeton (Editor); Dan B. Dobbs; Robert E. Keeton; David G. Owen
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .P73 1984
ISBN: 0314748806
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Published in 1984, but still considered to be the authority on Torts as you’ll see citations to Prosser & Keeton in virtually every casebook; provides clear explanations of the law, but may need to supplement with more timely material.
Questions and Answers by Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 B47 2018
ISBN: 1531005004
Publication Date: 2018-03-25
Uses multiple choice and short answer questions to help students determine if there are spots in need of review in the material.
Tort Law by Mark Geistfeld
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .G45 2008
ISBN: 0735568286
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
Focuses on the fundamentals of tort law, using a more conversational tone to introduce legal rules.
Torts in a Nutshell by Edward Kionka
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .Z9 K53 2015
ISBN: 1628105518
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Well-organized guide; especially good for learning black letter law.
Understanding Torts by John L. Diamond; Lawrence C. Levine; Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor KF 1250 .D5 2013
ISBN: 1531009751
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Very highly rated supplement; provides an in-depth coverage of torts material that typically confuses students.

1L Subject Study Guides

Need Help?

Contact Us

Introduction

Audio & Video Study Aids

Subject Guides