Major Legal Treatises and Sources by Topic

Available on Lexis. Offers analyses and practical discussions, supported by extensive case authority from all jurisdictions, on this actively litigated area of commercial law.

Available on Westlaw. Contains essential information for both those advising creditors and those representing the consumer.

The manual describes the entity called a form, and illustrates how using a form in a financial or commercial institution ensures compliance with the consumer credit statutes and regulations involved. This resource contains a compendium of documents, publications, practice-tested forms, instructions, procedures, and descriptive materials—contributed by more than 100 banks, banking associations, credit organizations, governmental agencies, and attorneys.

Available on Lexis. Covers every aspect of consumer credit law and regulation.

Available on Bloomberg Law. Last updated 2017.

Available on Lexis. No longer being updated.

Available on Westlaw. A comprehensive handbook directed at protecting the rights of consumers in the marketplace. It provides information on protecting the rights of the consumer on both the state and federal level. Some of the topics covered include mass media advertising, statutory regulation, warranties, consumer credit, truth in lending, credit reports, and debt collection. Consumer Law Sales Practices and Credit Regulation also deals in part with the existing laws that regulate telephone solicitations.

Available on Westlaw. Provides legal coverage on all aspects of advertising, sales practices, unfair and deceptive trade practices, consumer fraud, and product warranties.

Available on Lexis. A comprehensive multi-volume treatise, which offers users complete coverage of all aspects of the debtor-creditor relationship, including current case law, practical guidance and numerous forms for the practitioner.

Available on Lexis. Provides a detailed analysis of all areas of FTC responsibility, including rule making procedures; trade regulation statutes and rules; rules and procedures for investigations and litigation; application of U.S. antitrust laws to overseas conduct; Hart-Scott-Rodino premerger rules; evolving concepts of unfairness and deception; and asset freezes, injunctions and actions for civil penalties and consumer redress.

The Law of Truth in Lending provides comprehensive coverage of Truth in Lending (TIL) law through 2013, describing the current state of the law and its evolution over the past 40 years, with citations to current and historically significant authority. The book includes important changes in the law, with a focus on changes since 2006. The description of these changes, placed in the broader context of pre-existing law, provides a unique resource for any practitioner confronted with TIL issues or questions. The book advises practitioners on the scope and explains the issues when considering matters of Truth in Lending (TIL) compliance, disclosure, remediation, and enforcement. Areas discussed include: statutory/regulatory provisions and case law on calculating and disclosing the finance charge APR calculation and disclosure real estate transactions changes implemented from the CARD act since 2009 litigation developments and much more "