This is a collection of video recordings of lectures on racial justice in legal education. Sessions include Becoming an Antiracist Lawyer, Black Lawyers Matter, Building a Faculty-wide Race and Equal Protection of the Law Curriculum for 1Ls, Building an Antiracist Law School, Implicit Bias in Bankruptcy and Law Practice, Race and Contract Law, Race Matters, and Water Justice in Indian Country.
This article is a primer for faculty advocating for inclusive teaching methods and socially just seminar classes, particularly for 1Ls. The author covers pedagogical perspectives, teaching strategies, and course structures to facilitate this goal.
This is an introductory guide to inclusive teaching practices. The guide urges teachers to reflect on their own practices in order to create and maintain a positive and inclusive learning environment and to become more student-centered in their focus. The guide discusses an overview of inclusive teaching offers four specific strategies for educators along with references to additional guides for further reading.
"Chris Linder, Jessica C. Harris, Evette L. Allen & Bryan Hubain (2015) Building
Inclusive Pedagogy: Recommendations From a National Study of Students of Color in Higher
Education and Student Affairs Graduate Programs, Equity & Excellence in Education"
This article examines inclusive teaching in higher education. The author acknowledges that students of color, faculty, and universities are not served by the status quo, and laments the lack of inclusive teaching practices being put in place in higher education to combat this. The author discusses why inclusive teaching is so important, and offers reflection questions to ensure professors are teaching with inclusion in mind.
This article discusses the concept of "knowledge" in education and how the mainstream focus on experiential knowledge is limiting. Excerpt from the abstract: "Knowledge that comes from experience limits the knower to that experience. The shift to localized knowledge fixes groups in the working class to a never ending present as schools that use a social constructivist approach to knowledge in the curriculum fail to provide the intellectual tools of conceptual thinking and its medium in advanced literacy that lead to an imagined, yet unknown, future."
This is a link to the CU Center for Reaching and Learning, which offers individual and group consultations to faculty to assist with various aspects of the teaching process, including inclusive course design.
This is a resource for teachers which covers inclusive teaching in higher education. It discusses five key points: how to choose course content, increasing awareness of problematic assumptions, planning courses more intentionally, getting to know students in order to further inclusive teaching, and examine your own decisions, comments, and behaviors during the process of teaching.
University of Michigan: Center for Research on Learning and Teaching
Creating Inclusive Law Classrooms through more experiential learning
LINK BROKEN - This article advocates for law schools to abandon ad hoc diversity efforts and instead apply a “cultural proficiency” framework to the administration of law schools, the training of faculty, and the instruction of law students.
This article begins with the story of "Julian." The authors used the 219 participants in the National Black Male College Achievement Study to create a composite of perspectives that they uses to create this narrative. The goal of the article is to personalize concerns of diverse student populations and push faculty to intentionally incorporate cultural inclusion into their pedagogy and their courses.
This article examines three models that nurture cultural diversity in institutions of higher learning: the intercultural education model, the multicultural education model, and the anti-racist education model. The author argues that responding to the needs of culturally diverse students requires change at a number of different levels of higher education, and the anti-racist education model is the most appropriate one for implementing change in a higher education setting.
This guide contains a list of general guides, publications, and articles that can help faculty design 1L courses that educate students how race has shaped the discipline being taught. The article recognizes that "diversity issues are not restricted to specialized courses like civil rights."
The goal of this article is to help teachers lead difficult dialogues in the classroom by providing specific strategies. The article discusses the basics behind having difficult dialogues, offers advice on how to foster inclusive discussions in the classroom, and how to handle "hot moments" when they occur during class.
This study investigates the perceptions and experiences that disabled students have with learning. These students offered information about issues with access to information necessary to their learning experience, reported on by the study. Further, the article discusses ways to improve practices regarding inclusive teaching.
This article discusses the inclusion of race in the law school curriculum through an analysis of a race-focused class, the Critical Race Reading Seminar (CRSS), developed and taught by professors at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law. The article focuses on the structure of the seminar, which is co-taught by multiple professors focused on collaborative work using non-fiction books instead of legal texts and embracing assessments grounded in student reflection. The authors ground the article in the importance and centrality of racial education in the world of legal education and hope to inspire further law school faculties to create similar courses at their institutions.
This research guide is a collection of articles and resources similar to this database. It includes both books and articles for professors on diversity and inclusion pedagogy as well as a collection of student resources for 1L classes and beyond.
This collection of articles broadly asks whether the use of a return on investment measurement for law firms analyzing diversity and inclusion efforts is a useful one. The authors answers emphatically "no," and discusses the practice and other methods of improving D&I and measuring the worth and success of such practices.
This brief article offers various resources for inclusive teaching in higher education. It discusses why diversity and inclusive teaching are critical in higher education, and includes handouts and a list of links to further this goal.
This resource broadly covers creating inclusive curriculums for higher education. The article It offers both generic and subject-specific information for inclusive curriculum design and considers the need to take account of student characteristics. Further, this resource considers other easily comprehensible strategies for implementing and improving inclusive teaching practices.
This serves as an example of how teachers might structure their classes, including exercises to engage students, to focus on diverse perspectives. It covers various exercises from an Animals and Human Culture undergraduate class and how the exercises further various goals of inclusivity and diverse thinking.
This article discusses intergroup dialogue, a face-to-face facilitated learning experience that brings together students from different social identity groups over a sustained period of time to understand their commonalities and differences, examine the nature and impact of societal inequalities, and explore ways of working together toward greater equality and justice.
This resource is a discussion and collection of links to resources for each of the 5 phases considered by the author in order to improve anti-racist practices in law schools: The listening, learning, leading, audit reporting, and iterative phases. Of particular value might be the questions listed under "The Audit Reporting Phase." These questions are designed to assist deans periodically evaluate if the school is failing to be or successful in being anti-racist. The iterative phase includes a lengthy list of Law School Solidarity and Antiracism Statements.
This article recognizes that the benefits of inclusive teaching have been clearly proven, and yet there remain significant barriers to implementing such practices in higher education. The author highlights the practices of inclusive faculty and the methods faculty developers can use to promote inclusive excellence along five dimensions: (1) intrapersonal awareness, (2) interpersonal awareness, (3) curricular transformation, (4) inclusive pedagogy, and (5) inclusive learning environments.
This resource offers easily digestible information on basic strategies for inclusive teaching. It covers the evidence supporting development of inclusive programs, our own potential biases in teaching, and how to teach inclusively. The articles further contains a list of links to additional resources for faculty to read.
This article offers an alternative approach to trauma-informed teaching that recognize students' trauma but focuses more on "asset driven strategies to support young people who have been harmed." The author acknowledges that trauma-informed healing is important, but has its limitations. The author argues for the inclusion of a healing-centered approach, which is holistic and involves culture, spirituality, civic action and collective healing. Importantly, this approach focuses on the ways that trauma and healing are experienced collectively within groups.
This is a panel discussion with Emory's language center faculty and scholars on anti-racism in the educational environment. Although focused on a different field, the strategies discussed in the video can be extended to classroom environments in general, and certainly for law school in particular. There are multiple presentations in the one hour and twenty one minute video on YouTube.
Toward an Anti Racist Language Pedagogy, Emory University
How to Better Create Safe Spaces for Diverse Students "We Hope this Article Will Help Professors Overcome the Challenges They Face in Applying Pedagogical Approaches That are Capable of Helping Students From all Backgrounds Succeed."
This article acknowledges that there has been a shift in working towards law school classrooms with more inclusive pedagogy, but diverse students are still left behind or left without the resources they need to succeed. It looks at the results of 11 in depth interviews with "transformative professors" that UC Berkley students identified as being skilled at creating those safe spaces
This publication is a dissertation for a Doctor of Education focusing on anti-racist teaching and education. In the author's words, 'this study asked twenty-five educators involved in Multiracial organizations to discuss anti-racist education: what it should teach Multiracial students; what is working; what is not working; and how it might be improved?' To answer the questions, the author surveyed various educators who have participated in the Multiracial Movement, and then presents his own concept of “community-based anti-racist education.”
This article presents findings from a U.S. survey related to students’ attitudes regarding the role of culture and law, and discussing the implications for developing teaching methods and materials designed to improve students’ cultural sensibilities. The authors discuss why it is important to increase student's ability to work across cultures, and discuss the what the results of the survey say about the teaching of law.
Andrea A. Curcio, Teresa M. Ward & Nisha Dogra, Educating Culturally Sensible Lawyers: A Study of Student Attitudes about the Role Culture Plays in the Lawyering Process, 16 U.W. Sydney L. Rev. 98 (2012)
This article discusses how teachers reflect on students with disabilities and on their own practices. The literature the author reviews suggests that inclusion takes place when barriers are removed, allowing participation. This article examines German secondary school teachers, who reflect on inclusive pedagogical practices and their relationship to learners with disabilities.
CSU provides helpful information to instructors on how to design courses. The page offers helpful suggestions focused on online instruction, which is particularly relevant right now. The page puts a strong emphasis on accessibility.
The authors offer a high level view of recent literature focused on fostering and improving inclusive learning and teaching. The article synthesizes key findings from recent scholarship and argues for a holistic whole-of-institution approach in implementing inclusive teaching practices successfully.
This is a link to a book which broadly covers inclusive teaching methods in higher education. The book explores how teachers can create more inclusive classroom discussions through faculty collaboration and self-reflection. The authors note that they agree with bell hooks that the learning of faculty and of students and, indeed, the broader self-actualization of each are intertwined and reciprocal processes. Perhaps most useful, the third section of the book covers effective teaching practices for engaging students in learning.
This page offers information for a self-paced anti-racism course through canvas. There are links to further resources with more information on trauma-sensitive approaches, microaggressions, and stereotype threats
This page offers information within the CU campus on how to design an inclusive syllabus, address accessibility for all students, create a supportive course climate, build community online, use high impact practices, and help students reflect on their learning
This pamphlet is a short, simple, and effective breakdown of resources and ideas for inclusive teaching. It covers five key issues: Content chosen for courses, pedagogy, assessment in practice, the learning environment, and power dynamics in the classroom. The pamphlet offers questions to help teachers focus their efforts on improving their teaching practices.
The authors break the inclusive teaching process down into 5 basic principles and then offer a list of teaching strategies to help teachers actually implement the principles. To help instructors better structure their intentional approaches to inclusion in teaching, the Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning synthesized the research on inclusive teaching into these five principles, then added research summaries and suggested teaching strategies to accompany each principle. The five principles, which serve as guideposts for the different paths that lead to inclusive teaching practices, provide instructors some options for their journey, as described in detail in the guide.
This source provides a basic overview for how to implement inclusive teaching. It covers three main points: why we should use inclusive teaching methods, considerations for inclusive teaching practices, and how to get started with inclusive teaching.
This resource gives examples, recommendations, and additional resources to incorporate inclusive teaching strategies into curriculum. The article offers high level view of the importance of inclusive teaching, and moves into implementing such teaching practices in higher education. it offers specific examples and recommendations for teachings in furthering this goal. The articles also includes a short list of links of other additional resources.
A teaching guide that aims: "1) to discuss the importance of inclusivity in the classroom, 2) to present examples of teaching more inclusively, and 3) to provide additional resources for further guidance." The guide offers an explanation of why inclusivity is important and what it looks like in the classroom, and includes links to other helpful/more in depth discussions on how to create/teach inclusivity in college courses
This article proposes a multilevel model of intersectionality to apply to the study of higher education. Drawing on literature from multiple disciplines to develop a model, the author examines Latinos’ experiences and outcomes in higher education as a special case to illustrate how the model can be applied to higher education research that seeks to address power dynamics that reproduce inequality or enhance educational equity.
The authors review research that adopts intersectionality as the chosen theoretical framework to analyze how institutions of higher learning are run in ways that lead to advantage/disadvantage. The analysis addresses the following questions: Within research that uses intersectionality, what aspects of the higher education context are the focus? What methodologies are employed and how do these contribute to the production of knowledge? What vectors of identity are included? The authors find that gender appeared as the primary identity with which other dimensions of difference were combined to produce intersectional positions.
This article offers an overview of the literature on teaching students with disabilities. It covers various examples and strategies of how to incorporate inclusive teaching methods in order to meet the needs of all students. Five primary themes are identified and discussed in relation to the supporting literature in the study.
The authors argue that American universities focus on independence tends to partially explain the lower average grades among first-generation students. This is partly due to the differences in motive among college students for attending college in the first place. The authors examine multiple studies focused on this question and propose a cultural mismatch theory as an answer. Presenting a universities culture as interdependent reduced a sense of inadequacy and eliminated the performance gap without adverse consequences for continuing-generation students.
Stephens, N. M., Fryberg, S. A., Markus, H. R., Johnson, C. S., & Covarrubias, R. (2012). Unseen disadvantage: how American universities' focus on independence undermines the academic performance of first-generation college students. Journal of personality and social psychology, 102(6), 1178.
This compliments the "what you need to know" video below and serves as a written outline of what the video covers. It largely focuses on methods to get courses certified as "multicultural" but offers useful examples for teachers to consider regarding inclusive teaching and incorporating broader viewpoints.
This article discusses how using Multiple Intelligence Theory can help inform teaching and learning in higher education on issues of diversity within the classroom. Multiple Intelligence Theory is the idea that people do not have just an intellectual capacity, but have many kinds of intelligence, including musical, interpersonal, spatial-visual, and linguistic intelligences. The study examines why this theory has bene overlooked in higher education and how it can be implemented as a useful pedagogical tool.
This articles discusses anti-racist practices in teaching. The author first discusses four common pitfalls in racial equity approaches and efforts and why they are not helpful. The article then moves on to five principles of equity literacy for implementing transformative racial equity practices.
This article synthesizes pedagogical principles for use in classrooms in many different areas of study and for teachers of differing experience levels. The author focuses on teaching race, racism, and racial justice. The articles covers various methods and offers suggestions for teachers to help improve their practices.
This article discusses the importance of classroom climate and the ways it impacts student learning. The authors discuss why classroom climate is so important and have included their top strategies for inclusive teaching. The articles includes three different sections which cover handling difficult moments with respect and sensitivity, teaching with a heterogenous audience in mind, and fostering belonging and self-confidence.
This is a study of outcomes of a professional development model intended to strengthen faculty members’ cultural competence and skills for teaching about diversity and inclusion. The Creating an Inclusive Community (CIC) practice was developed by faculty across social science disciplines. The study examines the outcomes of implementation of the model ons student bodies.
This book asks the question "How can we help diverse students learn from each other and gain the competencies they will need in an increasingly multicultural America?" The authors used intergroup dialogue throughout a year long course to examine how open discussions of race and gender affected student's feelings/attitudes around their differences. Students initially exhibited negative feelings but these had changed substantially by the end of the course. The book presents a persuasive practical, theoretical and empirical account of the benefits of intergroup dialogue.
This article provides an examination of racial microaggressions and how they influence the collegiate racial climate through examination of a study that uses critical race theory as a framework. Through focus group interview data from African American students at three universities, the study reveals that racial microaggressions exist in both academic and social spaces in the collegiate environment. The study shows how African American students experience and respond to racial microaggressions. The authors discuss how the study demonstrates how racial microaggressions have a negative impact on the campus racial climate.
Solorzano, D., Ceja M., & Yosso, T. (2000). Critical Race Theory, Racial Microaggressions, and Campus Racial Climate: The Experiences of African American College Students. The Journal of Negro Education 69(1/2), 60-73.
This article focuses on the nature of so called 'difficult' conversations on race in the classroom. Often, conversations around diversity are called difficult when brought up and that in turn makes students labeled as diverse feel like their presence is in itself difficult - this article discusses how that discourse is harmful. The author argues that in fact, all course content reflects identity politics, not just these so called difficult conversations.
This resource provides an extensive list of scholarship on the subject of inclusive teaching. The authors refer to it as "equity-based teaching," and discuss why this approach is so important. The article includes links to research backing up this assertion. In short, they argue that inclusive practices are beneficial to al students but especially for students who are members of groups underrepresented in their fields or traditionally underserved by institutions of higher education.
This study covers an experiment performed by the authors designed to test a method of helping students resist responses to “stereotype threat.” Stereotype threat describes a phenomenon where awareness of stereotypes about intelligence and intellectual abilities psychologically threaten African Americans. Students in the experimental condition of the experiment were encouraged to see intelligence—the object of the stereotype—as a malleable rather than fixed capacity. The African American students (and, to some degree, the White students) encouraged to view intelligence as malleable reported greater enjoyment of the academic process, greater academic engagement, and obtained higher grade point averages than their counterparts in two control groups.
Joshua Aronson, Carrie B. Fried & Catherine Good, Reducing the Effects of Stereotype Threat on African American College Students by Shaping Theories of Intelligence, 38 J. of Experimental Soc. Psych. 113 (2003).
This article is a meta study and discussion of an increased course structure method and effective active-learning practices. The authors describe previous studies focusing on similar issues and their own research in the field, concluding that increased course structure improves student achievement at least partially through increasing student use of distributed learning and creating a more interdependent classroom community.
LINK BROKEN - Excerpt from website: these theories and frameworks attend to achievement motivation, i.e., those psychosocial constructs connected with the degree to which students engage in tasks and activities related to learning and demonstration of learning.
This article focuses on a proposed tool for lecturers to self-evaluate their approach to inclusive teaching developed by the author. This resource first covers the background and context for developing such a tool. The author describes in depth the self reflective resource, good practices for professors, and a self reflective checklist for professors to use.
LINK BROKEN - A recording of the university's "What You Need to Know" seminar. While this video is mainly intended to inform faculty about how to get a course certified as "multicultural," it provides useful information that can be applied in further settings.
This article reports on a study of teachers and practices regarding inclusive teaching methods. The study focuses on 11 Scottish teachers and their experiences incorporating inclusive teaching into their classroom. The study identifies practical examples of inclusive pedagogy for teachers to learn from.
This article offers lessons and suggestions for improving inclusive teaching practices from a survey of more than 100 faculty members from universities in Spain. Beyond the specific experiences and metadata gained from the study, the author identifies a series of practices regarding the components and methods required for constructing inclusive university communities.
This article discusses ways that teachers can help students during the COVID-19 pandemic. The author focuses on a few key points for educators in understanding how stress and trauma and approaching their effects with students. The article also includes a list of further resources for teachers to peruse.
This resource offers a book suggestion for teachers looking to approach difficult experiences through instruction and classroom interaction. The author emphasizes how power and privilege matter centrally in inclusive teaching, and describes pedagogies and strategies designed to provide opportunities for students to bring their experiences into the classroom.
This resource is a guide for professors in implementing more inclusive teaching methods in order to provide more opportunities for all students. The guide ends with a list of internal and external resources provided by UCL for improving inclusive learning.
This is a general overview from Dartmouth for professors focused on creating an inclusive teaching and learning environment. It offers a brief overview of inclusive teaching, inclusive practices for professors to focus on, and various additional resources for professors to read.
This is a resource from Washington University in St. Louis for professors offering strategies and resources for inclusive teaching and learning practices, providing various strategies and methods for developing a better teaching and learning environment.
This is a resource developed by Princeton for developing inclusive teaching methods. The guide offers instructions and advice for improving course content, assessments, and pedagogy in order to promote inclusion for marginalized students.
This resource from the University of Utah focuses on improving inclusive teaching practices for professors. The guide provides a brief overview of principles and strategies of inclusive teaching and includes a section of links to further resources.
This resource is centered on fostering inclusive teaching active learning. The guide focuses on improving active learning as a critical teaching tool in the classroom in order to build and improve more inclusive teaching methods.
This resource provides 10 specific practices for inclusive teaching. These 10 ideas are presented in videos from professors at various institutions. There is a video for each of the 10 practices, offered as guidance in implementing these strategies.
This is a resource similar to this database. It offers many links to resources for inclusive teaching, including a syllabus rubric and toolkit for implementing inclusive methods and specific advice for online teaching.
Academic Impressions offers a virtual workshop designed to educate faculty on inclusive teaching and shifting one's mindset. This is a recorded training session designed to help teachers transform their teaching methods to better engage, support, and prepare their students.