Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Argentina Research

This guide was prepared for the use of University of Colorado Law School students enrolled in Comparative Law: Argentina (spring 2019).

General

The Statesman's Yearbook (annual).  Online and LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor  JA 51 .S7 2018.  Search by Country.  Covers topics such as Climate, Constitution & Government, Culture, Economy, Fact Sheet, Industry, Religion, Social Institutions, Social Statistics, Territory and Population. 

CIA World Factbook: Argentina

U.S. State Department: U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheet: Argentina

Wikipedia: Argentina.

Press

The main newspapers are Clarín (English version), La Nación (Spanish), and Diario Popular (Spanish).  La Prensa (Spanish) is a daily newspaper based in Buenos Aires.  Revista Noticias (Spanish) is a weekly magazine covering politics, the economy, and culture.

There is also the Buenos Aires Times (Sept. 2, 2017-), an English-language newspaper for "expatriates living in the country and for the international diplomatic and business community from abroad that needs informed about this country in a universal language."  The Buenos Aires Times is a successor to the 141-year-old Buenos Aires Herald, which ceased publication.

Language Translation

General Legal

 

Avalos Legal Glossary/Dictionary Translator and Other Related Fields of Study : English/Spanish Spanish/English / compiled by Francisco A. Avalos.  LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor  K 52 .S6 A93 2018 

Dahl's Law Dictionary : Spanish-English/English-Spanish : An Annotated Legal Dictionary = Diccionario Jurídico Dahl / by Henry Saint Dahl ; with the collaboration of Tamera Boudreau.  LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 D33 2015

English/Spanish and Spanish/English Legal Dictionary / Steven M. Kaplan.  LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 K36 2013

Criminal Law and Procedure

 

Legal Terminology Dictionary : A Bilingual Dictionary for Legal Translation and Court Interpreting : English/Spanish & Spanish/English / [compiled by] Sean Dean Stromberg.  LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor K 52 .S6 S77 2018

Mert Bilingual Criminal Law Dictionary = Diccionario Juridico Penal Bilingüe LAW REFERENCE 2nd floor  K 52 .S6 M47 2014

The ABA Spanish Legal Phrasebook / Samantha Snow Ward and Corinne Cooper.  LAW STACKS basement K 52 .S6 W37 2010.  Includes common legal phrases in criminal law.

 An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure / Sandro Tomasi.  LAW STACKS basement K 5014.6 T66 2009

Cuisine

Argentinean cuisine (Wikipedia).  

Selected Background Reading

General

 

A History of Argentina in the Twentieth Century / Luis Alberto Romero ; translated by James P. Brennan (Pennsylvania State University Press 2014).  Updated and revised edition.  NORLIN LIBRARY STACKS F 2848 .R6613 2014.  Available on Amazon.

Argentina Since the 2001 Crisis : Recovering the Past, Reclaiming the Future (Cara Levey, Daniel Ozarow & Christopher Wylde eds., Palgrave Macmillan 2014).  NORLIN LIBRARY STACKS HC 175 .A87682 2014.  Available on Amazon.

Argentine Democracy : The Politics of Institutional Weakness (Steven Levitsky & María Victoria Murillo eds., Pennsylvania State University Press 2005).  NORLIN LIBRARY STACKS JL 2031.A745 2005.  Available on Amazon.

Law and Policy in Latin America : Transforming Courts, Institutions, and Rights / Pedro Fortes, Larissa Boratti, Andrés Palacios Lleras, Tom Gerald Daly, editors (Palgrave Macmillan 2017).  LAW STACKS basement KG 96 .L39 2017.  Includes Marcelo Torelly, Transnational Legal Process and Fundamental Rights in Latin America : How Does the Inter-American Human Rights System Reshape Domestic Constitutional Rights? (pp. 21-38).  Available on Amazon.

Legal Culture in the Age of Globalization : Latin America and Latin Europe / edited by Lawrence M. Friedman and Rogelio Perez-Perdomo (Stanford University Press 2003).  LAW STACKS basement  K 561 .L44 2003.  Includes Maria Ines Bergoglio, Argentina : The Effects of Democratic Institutionalization (pp. 20-63).  Available on Amazon.

Criminal Justice

 

Vanina G. Almeida et al., The Rise of the Jury in Argentina, and María Inés Bergoglio, Twelve Years of Mixed Tribunals in Argentinain Judges, Lay Juries, and Mixed Courts: A Global Perspective (Sanja Kutnjak Ivkovic, Shari Seidman Diamond, Valerie P. Hans & Nancy S. Marder eds., Cambridge University Press 2021).

Eva Van Roekel, Phenomenal Justice: Violence and Morality in Argentina (Rutgers University Press 2020).  LAW STACKS KHA 133.P64V36 2020.

Laura S. Abrams, Sid P. Jordan & Laura A. Montero, What Is a Juvenile? A Cross-National Comparison of Youth Justice Systems, 18(2) Youth Justice 111 (2018).  Available in Criminal Justice Database.  Abstract: "In this article, the authors analyze cross-national variations in how the category of ‘juvenile’ is defined in criminal law and policy. The authors purposively selected the cases of Argentina, Belize, England/Wales, and Finland to maximize differences in the boundaries of the Minimum Age of Criminal Responsibility and the Age of Criminal Majority."

Caitlyn Scherr, Note, Chasing Democracy: The Development of and Acceptance of Jury Trials in Argentina, 47 Miami Inter-Am. L. Rev. 316 (2016).  Available in HeinOnline.

Ignacio Munyo, Youth Crime in Latin America: Key Determinants and Effective Public Policy Responses (Brookings Global Nov. 2013).

The Judicial Response to Police Killings in Latin America / Daniel M. Brinks (Cambridge University Press 2008).  Available from Prospector regional interlibrary loan system and Amazon.

The State on the Streets : Police and Politics in Argentina and Brazil / Mercedes S. Hinton (Lynne Rienner Publishers 2006).  NORLIN LIBRARY STACKS HV 8178 .H56 2006.  

Crime and Punishment in Latin America : Law and Society Since Late Colonial Times / edited by Ricardo D. Salvatore, Carlos A. Aguirre & Gilbert M. Joseph (Duke University Press 2001).  LAW ELECTRONIC RESOURCES.  Available on Amazon.

Criminal Justice in Argentina: An Overview for American Readers / Alejandro D. Carrió (Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center Publications Institute 1989).  Available on interlibrary loan.

 

 

 

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS