Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Law

This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law.

News & Current Awareness

BNA's BioTech Watch
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and legal developments relating to biotechnology issues.

BNA's Computer Technology Law Report [new name]
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law [error]
Coverage of legal issues affecting the computer technology industry, on federal, state, and international levels. Published twice monthly. 

BNA's Life Science Law and Industry Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of federal, state, and international legislation, regulations, policies, and standards affecting the life sciences industry. Published every other week.

BNA's Medical Devices Law & Industry Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and legal developments affecting the medical device industry. Published every other week. 

BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
Available on Bloomberg Law 
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends, and other key developments. Published weekly. 

BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Law - Daily Edition
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of important intellectual property cases, statutes, trends and other key developments. Published each business day.

BNA's Pharmaceutical Law & Industry Report 
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of regulatory and litigation developments affecting the pharmaceutical and biotech industries. Updated weekly. 

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

Landslide (ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law) (LAW PERIODICALS, Basement, K 12 .A637)
Available on HeinOnline
Provides in-depth coverage of IP law, with added emphasis on business, technology, the arts, legislation, and international developments. Published bi-monthly.

Official Gazette for Patents
Available at the USPTO
Published weekly on Tuesday, includes bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each patent issued that week.
Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS