Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Law

This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law.

Patent Searching

Derwent World Patent Index
Available on WestlawNext
Includes editorially enhanced information on more than 20 million patent families. Covers 1963 - present.

Google Patent Search
Includes the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, EPO, and WIPO. US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO date back to 1978.

Patentscope (WIPO)
Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text on the day of publication.

PCT Patent Applications 
Available on WestlawNext
Includes patent applications filed with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) pursuant to the Patent Cooperation Treaty, including related versions, such as republications. Covers 1978 - current.

USPTO Global Patent Search Network (GPSN)
Search the full text of multiple international patent collections.

USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT)
Full-text and image versions of patent applications. 

USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT)
Full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. 

USPTO Patent Classification
Includes the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) scheme and definitions; the United States Patent Classification (USPC) schedules, definitions, and the Index to the USPC; and the International Patent Classification (IPC) scheme, definitions, and catchword index. 
Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS