Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Law

This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law.

Foreign & International Resources

Abe, Ikubo & Katayama, Japanese Patent Litigation (2012)
Available on WestlawNext [not working]
Discusses issues in the Japanese patent litigation system that differ from issues in the United States. 

J.W. Baxter et al., Baxter World Patent Law (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance
Covers the process of obtaining a patent and discusses the patent laws and rules throughout the world. 

BNA's World Intellectual Property Report
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Coverage of international legal developments affecting intellectual property. Updated continuously, with a review published each month. 

William Joseph Contreau & Jessica M. Sinnott, European Patent Law and Practice (2015)
Available on Lexis Advance [not working]
Provides an overview of European patent practice covering the European Patent Convention and how to obtain patents in European Contracting States. 

Rochelle C. Dreyfuss et al. (eds.), Intellectual Property: Principles Governing Jurisdiction, Choice of Law, and Judgments in Transnational Disputes (2008)
Available on Lexis Advance
Topics covered include: personal jurisdiction over the defendant, jurisdiction over subject matter and simplification, applicable law on title and transfer of rights, and recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments. [change title?]

Global IP Law Service Quick Charts
Available on Lexis Advance
Covers IP practice and proceedings guidelines for all 24 regions of the world. Provides easy comparisons for each country in a given region. 

Edward D. Manzo (ed.), Patent Claim Interpretation - Global Edition (2014)
Available on WestlawNext
Explores the approaches taken by major countries around the globe on how patent claims are intepreted. 

Michael N. Meller & William O. Hennessey, International Patent Litigation: A Country-by-Country Analysis (2014)
Available on Bloomberg Law
Contains separate sections for each country and looks into various issues, such as patentee rights, infringement, remedies, defenses, pretrial proceedings, interpretation of claims, settlements, and jurisdiction.

Andrew Rudge, Guide to European Patents (2014)
Available on WestlawNext [not working]
Discusses the current European Patent Convention (EPC 2000) and compares the processes and procedures of the European Patent Office to those in the United States. 

J. Sinder Stuart (ed.), Getting the Deal Through: Patents (2015) [edit name]
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis in key areas of patent law and policy. 

M. Hutton Susan (ed.), Getting the Deal Through: Intellectual Property and Antitrust (2015) [edit name]
Available on Bloomberg Law
Provides international analysis in key areas of intellectual property and antitrust law and policy

Henry D. Teegarden (ed.), Patents Throughout the World (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Comprehensive guide to the patent laws of more than 180 countries. Summarizes the patent laws of each country, lists the conditions under which patents can be obtained, and provides the complete texts or summaries of the most important international patent treaties. 

WIPO Lex
Covers the national laws and treaties on intellectual property of WIPO, WTO, and UN members. Also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. 

WIPO-Administered Treaties
Full text and information about 26 WIPO-administered treaties, including the WIPO Convention. 

[add in?]

Patent Litigation: Mapping a Global Strategy; by Joseph M. Casino and Michael J. Kasdan, Wiggin and Dana LLP, with Practical Law Intellectual Property & Technology; Patent Litigation: Mapping a Global Strategy

Developing a Global Strategy for Patent Litigation; Developing a Global Strategy for Patent Litigation; Lexis Advance; This practice note details key considerations for developing and implementing a global patent litigation strategy, including identifying countries of interest, potential defendants, and relevant patents, and then assessing the legal framework in each country of interest in light of your client’s overall litigation goals.

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS