Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Law

This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law.

Case Law

BNA's Intellectual Property Law Resource Center - Patent Law
Available on BNA
Includes United States Patent Quarterly patent cases and cases from the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. 

BNA's United States Patent Quarterly
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes the full text of cases from federal courts and several administrative agencies

Robert A. Matthews, Jr., Annotated Patent Digest (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Contains summaries of all relevant patent law decisions in the U.S. along with expert commentary. 

Kevin Russell, Federal Circuit Patent Case Digests (2015)
Available on WestlawNext
Summarizes and highlights every published decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit dealing with patent-related issues. Includes references to assist in drafting letters, jury instructions, and legal memoranda.

Administrative Law

BNA's Intellectual Property Law Resource Center - Patent Law
Available on BNA
Includes United States Patent Quarterly patent cases and cases from the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. 

BNA's United States Patent Quarterly
Available on BNA
Available on Bloomberg Law
Includes the full text of cases from federal courts and several administrative agencies

Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) Decisions
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available on Lexis Advance
Available on WestlawNext

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available on HeinOnline
Available at the USPTO
Describes the laws and regulations that must be followed in the examination of U.S. patent applications. 

Official Gazette for Patents
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available at the USPTO
Published each Tuesday, contains bibliographic text and a representative drawing from each patent issued that week. 

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Forms
Available on Bloomberg Law
Available at the USPTO
Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS