Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Law

This guide provides a list of sources that will assist in learning about, studying, and practicing patent law.

Study Aids

Study aid materials are located in the reserve area behind the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of the law library. 

Martin J. Adelman et al., Patent Law in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, K 1505 .A34 2013)
Provides a description of the fundamentals of United States patent law. Topics covered include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, and remedies. 

Alan L. Durham, Patent Law Essentials: A Concise Guide (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114.3 .D87 2013)
Explains the latest revisions to the protections and limitations of patent law, including recent Supreme Court decisions concerning the patentability of software, business methods, and advancements in biotech. 

Amy L. Landers, Understanding Patent Law (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114 .L36 2012)
Includes coverage of all major patent law topics. Provides illustrative examples of complex patent doctrines. Also discusses the policy and historical underpinnings of primary patent law doctrines. 

Stephen M. McJohn, Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M35 2015)
Provides extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.

Charles R. McManis, Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 1610 .M354 2013)
Offers a broad summary of the law of intellectual property and the law of unfair competition. It also touches on related fields of law, such as antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations.

Arthur R. Miller & Michael H. Davis, Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M52 2012)
Provides authoritative coverage on the foundations of patent, trademark, and copyright law. 

Janis M. Mueller, Patent Law (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 3114.85 .M84 2009)
Clarifies principal legal doctrines, key judicial authority, governing statutes, and policy considerations for obtaining and enforcing a US patent

Gary Myers, Principles of Intellectual Property Law: A Concise Hornbook (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .M94 2017)
Comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, the right of publicity, and other areas of intellectual property protection.

Roger E. Schechter & John R. Thomas, Intellectual Property: The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks (LAW RESERVE, 2nd Floor, KF 2980 .S34 2003)
Comprehensive treatment of all three major branches of intellectual property law, surveying basic principles and emerging issues. 

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS