Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Funding for Law Research

A guide to some potential sources for internal (UC Boulder) and external research funding.

The Office of Vice Chancellor for Research

The Office of Contracts and Grants (OCG) works in partnership with CU Boulder's faculty and staff to prepare and submit proposals, including budgets, for external research funding.  All federal proposals and most sponsored projects funding need to be submitted through OCG.  Also, the Office of Research Integrity (ORI) ensures compliance with standards and regulations for scientific and ethical integrity in research.
  • PREAWARD: These OCG staff are assigned to Law and will consult with Colorado Law faculty on proposal preparation and submission.  They require a mininum of 5 business days lead time.  Jonathan Qin, Proposal Analyst.  Phone: 303-735-8264.  Email: jonathan.qin@colorado.edu.  Powerpoint presentation for Law Faculty on April 15, 2015: Proposal Development Basics pdf
  • POSTAWARD: These OCG staff are assigned to Law and will review, negotiate, accept, and assist with managing awards:

Colorado

Colorado Grants Guide (annual, subscription-based): "The Colorado Grants Guid is Colorado's leading online tool for grant funding research.  This comprehensive resource guide contains over 780+ profiles of local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, and government agencies that support Colorado nonprofit organizations.  The searchable database allows grantseekers to research funders and provides critical information like giving interests, application criteria, guidelines, deadlines, and past grantee information."  It must be accessed on-site in Norlin Library.

National


  • Contacts: Brian Bornstein, Program Director.  Email: bbornste@nsf.gov.  Phone: 703-292-5366.  Reginald (Reggie) Sheehan, Program Director.  Email: rsheehan@nsf.gov.  Phone: 703-292-5389. 
  • Program Solicitation (NSF 19-519) Guidelines (target dates: 8/1/19 or 01/15/20): https://www.nsf.gov/publications/pub_summ.jsp?WT.z_pims_id=504727&ods_key=nsf19519.  "The Law & Social Sciences Program considers proposals that address social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules.  The Program is inherently interdisciplinary and multi-methodological.  Successful proposals describe research that advances scientific theory and understanding of the connections between human behavior and law, legal institutions, or legal processes....Fields of study include many disciplines, and often address problems including though not limited to: Crime, Violence and Policing; Economic Issues; Governance and Courts; Human Rights and Comparative Law; Legal Decision Making; Legal Mobilization and Conceptions of Justice; Litigation and the Legal Profession; Punishment and Corrections."

To research ALL open federal government grants (Grants.gov): "Grants.gov is an E-Government initiative operating under the governance of the Office of Management and Budget.  Under the President's Management Agenda, the office was chartered to deliver a system that provides a centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities.  Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for federal grant-making agencies."
 

  • To track and manage National Science Foundation grants: "Research.gov's Proposal Submission pilot allows Sponsored Projects Office (SPO) staff and Principal Investigators (PIs) to use their institution's system to prepare and submit proposals directly to the National Science Foundation (NSF)."

To research ALL federal government grants that have been awarded previously (USAspending.gov): USAspending.gov is the "publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent.  Federal agencies are required to report the name of the entity receiving the award, the amount of the award, the recipient's location, the place of performance location, as well as other information."

Commercial Resources

SPINPlus: Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN) Plus, a product of InfoEd Global, is a web-based, searchable funding opportunities database available to all CU Boulder faculty, staff, and students.  "SPINPlus includes a database of funding opportunities, a database of investigator profiles, and a matching alert service.  Users can perform and save funding searches and create their own weekly email funding alert (CU Boulder login required)." 

Foundation Directory Online Professional: Updated weekly, FDO Professional is a research tool developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization.  It is used for finding foundation funding and is searchable by ZIP code, congressional district, and more.  The database is accessible to CU Boulder faculty, staff, and students.

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS