Entrepreneurial Law

Location: LAW READY REFERENCE 2nd floor
(Also available on CD-ROM)

Introduction to contract drafting / Edward D. White, Dominick D. Sekich -- Overview of business entities / Edward D. White, Jacqueline M. Benson, Scott P. Greiner -- Financing the business / David C. Roos -- Sale and purchase of goods and services / Edwin A. Naylor -- Copyright assignments / Charles F. Luce -- Labor and employment issues / Rebecca DeCook -- Overview of mergers and acquisitions / Edward D. White -- Overview of opinion letters / John E. Moye, Moye White -- Event sponsorship agreements / David Katalinas

Accompanying CD-ROM contains searchable Adobe Reader PDFs of the complete text of Business contracts : a guide for lawyers and business owners, 2013 edition, plus sample agreements and forms available in Microsoft Word file format

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor.
(Also available on Westlaw)

Accompanying CD-ROM contains forms discussed in Computer software agreements : forms and commentary, with forms on disk. 3rd ed. c1998. Forms are available in Microsoft Word Read-Only file format
Includes index

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor

An eagerly anticipated second edition of this established and highly regarded text teaches the key practice skill of contract drafting, with emphasis on how to incorporate the business deal into the contract and add value to the client's deal. Features: More exercises throughout the book, incorporating More precedents for use in exercises Exercises designed to teach students how to read and analyze a contract progressively more difficult and sophisticated New, multi-draft exercises involving a variety of business contracts New and refreshed examples, including Examples of well-drafted boilerplate provisions More detailed examples of proper way to use shall Multiple well-drafted contracts with annotations Revised Aircraft Purchase Agreement exercise to focus on key issues, along with precedents on how to draft the action sections and the endgame sections. Expanded explanations of endgame provisions, along with examples and new exercises

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor

Business Insider calls The ENTREPRENEUR'S GUIDE "perhaps the most useful business book you can ever read" and lists it among twenty-five must-read books for entrepreneurs. THE ENTREPRENEUR'S GUIDE TO LAW AND STRATEGY examines stages of starting a business -- from start-up and growth to public offering, while highlighting legal preparations and pitfalls. Cutting-edge examples show how legally astute entrepreneurs can strategically increase realizable value, deploy resources, and manage risk. The book discusses leaving your job, hiring former coworkers, competing with a former employer, workplace legislation, product liability, and bankruptcy. You examine current issues including today's workforce in the "gig" economy, "crowdsourcing" capital and social media, computer hacking and identity theft. Legal discussion integrates with core strategic concepts, such as Porter's Five Forces, the resource-based view of the firm, the value proposition, activities in the value chain and more.

Location: LAW STACKS basement
(Also available on Wolters Kluwer Cheetah online)

Because Delaware corporate law has virtually become national corporate law,its statutes and cutting-edge case law regarding corporations and alternativebusiness entities have attracted practitioners nationwide to look to Delawareas the place of formation for corporations and other business entities.The definitive section-by-section guide to the country's most importantcorporate law, the Sixth Edition of Folk on the DelawareGeneral Corporation Law is the place to turn for accurate, up-to-date,authoritative coverage of the Delaware statute. Its uniquely logical codesection organization with penetrating and extensively annotated commentarybrings you the best in:Effective strategies and options for specific business decisions andactivities under the statuteDetailed analysis of each key statutory provision and judicial decisionCoverage of all the major cases, many of them unreported and unavailable inany other sourceAnalysis organized by code section, with incisive and extensively annotatedcommentaryBecause it is a widely accepted authority in the field, Folk on theDelaware General Corporation Law is regularly cited by courts instates other than Delaware. Its section-by-section coverage makes it easy toquickly find the complete law text and analysis, including astute commentaryon recent legislation and the most significant cases (including unreportedopinions) with special attention to the more complex areas of practicalconcern.

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor

Now you can draft and defend accurate, well-supported third party legal opinions with complete confidence! In Glazer and FitzGibbon on Legal Opinions: Drafting, Interpreting, and Supporting Closing Opinions in Business Transactions, Third Edition, three outstanding authorities give you intensely practical guidance - including sample opinion language throughout the text - that shows you how to determine which versions of the standard opinion clauses you should use, establish the factual basis for the opinion, and take all the steps necessary to support your opinion. The authors describe customary practice and its implications, identify areas of uncertainty and suggests how disputed areas should be resolved. Extensive appendices reproduce all the ABA and TriBar Opinion Committee Reports, as well as all the Bar Association reports of various states. This valuable information is also included on a bonus companion CD-ROM.

Location: LAW STACKS 1st floor

In the fast-paced, multi-billion dollar licensing industry, you don't have time to reinvent the wheel every time you need to draft or negotiate a strong, enforceable licensing agreement. License Agreements: Forms and Checklists, Second Edition puts at your fingertips -- and on your computer screen -- all the critical tools needed to draft, negotiate, and finalize licensing deals more quickly and effectively. In this one comprehensive resource, License Agreements: Forms and Checklists, Second Edition, you'll find at your fingertips: Over sixty fully editable sample agreements that can be easily modified to meet your needs in virtually any transaction, both for US and international deals Agreements covering a wide range of licensable subjects including patents, software, athletic endorsements, wireless distribution and mobile content An introduction and practice tips for each form explaining their purpose and applicability In-depth analysis of the legal principles you must consider when drafting agreements, from both the licensor and the licensee perspective Authoritative discussions of andquot;hot issuesandquot; that will likely come up for negotiation and how to handle them CD-ROM containing all of the forms discussed in the text for ease of use Compiled by nationally renowned licensing law authorities Gregory J. Battersby and Charles W. Grimes, this time-saving reference gives you proven-effective agreements that can be used as the starting point for the preparation and negotiation of virtually any licensing transaction.

Location: LAW READY REFERENCE 2nd floor

History of development of unincorporated entities -- Choosing the right entity for the client -- Formation and management and member and partner status -- Duties and rights of members and partners -- Transfer of member and partner interests -- Creditor rights -- Owner liability for debts of an entity, reverse veil piercing, and liability to return unlawful distributions -- Derivative actions -- Special uses for LLCs and partnerships -- Entity conversions, mergers, and divisions -- Dissolution, delinquency, and reinstatement -- Income tax -- Employment taxes -- Securities law considerations -- Series LLCs -- Use of LLCs and LPs for estate planning -- Ethical considerations -- Appendix A. Illustrative form of multi-member operating agreement -- Appendix B. Illustrative form of single-member operating agreement -- Appendix C. LLC formation checklist

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor

With A Manual of Style for Contract Drafting, Kenneth A. Adams has created a uniquely in-depth survey of the building blocks of contract language. First published in 2004, it offers those who draft, review, negotiate, or interpret contracts an alternative to the dysfunction of traditional contract language and the inertia and flawed conventional wisdom that perpetuate it. This manual has become a vital resource throughout the legal profession, in the United States and internationally. This updated edition contains almost one hundred pages of new material addressing many topics, making it even more authoritative and essential. This manual's focus remains how to express contract terms in prose that is free of the archaisms, redundancies, ambiguities, and other problems that afflict traditional contract language. With exceptional analysis and an unmatched level of practical detail, Mr. Adams highlights common sources of confusion and recommends clearer and more concise alternatives. This manual is organized to facilitate easy reference, and it illustrates its analysis with numerous examples. Consult it to save time in drafting and negotiation and to reduce the risk of dispute.

Location: LAW STACKS 1st floor

Location: LAW STACKS 1st floor
(Also available on Westlaw)

VOLUME 1. Basic principles of unfair competition -- Fundamental principles of trademark protection -- The functions of trademarks -- Explaining terms of art in trademark and unfair competition law -- Historical basis of trademarks and legislative history -- Trademarks compared to patents and copyrights -- Trademark and trade dress formats -- Trade dress -- Corporation and organization trade names -- VOLUME 2. Literary, artistic and entertainment rights -- The spectrum of distinctiveness of marks -- Generic terms -- Personal names as marks -- Geographic term marks -- Secondary meaning -- Acquisition and priority of trademark rights -- VOLUME 3. Loss of trademark rights -- Assignment and licensing of trademarks -- Federal registration of marks -- Inter partes trademark proceedings in the Patent and Trademark Office -- Appeal from decisions on trademark registration -- State protection and registration of marks -- VOLUME 4. Likelihood of confusion : the test of trademark infringement -- Infringement by use of mark on noncompetitive goods or services -- Types of trademark infringement -- VOLUME 5. Trademark infringement on the Internet -- The territorial extent of trademark rights -- Lanham Act [section] 43(A) and false advertising -- False endorsement and the right of publicity -- International aspects of trademark law -- Remedies for trademark infringement and unfair competition -- VOLUME 6. Defenses to infringement of trademarks -- Procedure in trademark infringement and unfair competition litigation -- Insurance coverage for trademark matters -- Checklists of legal claims and defenses -- Appendix A1. Federal Trademark Act of 1946, as amended (The Lanham Act) -- Appendix A2. References to statutes relevant to trademarks -- VOLUME 7. Appendix A3. Trademark rules of practice of the Patent and Trademark Office, as amended (T.M.R.P.) -- Appendix A4. Classification of goods and services under the Federal Trademark Act -- Appendix A5. Selected legislative history of the 1988 Trademark Law Revision Act : Senate Judiciary Report on S. 1883 -- Appendix A6. Selected legislative history of the 1988 Trademark Law Revision Act : House Judiciary Report on H.R. 5372 -- Appendix A7. Criminal anti-counterfeiting provisions -- Appendix A8. Joint congressional statement on 1984 trademark counterfeiting legislation -- Appendix A9. Selected Patent and Trademark Office examination guides

Location: LAW RESERVE 2nd floor
(Also available on Westlaw)

Publisher varies; currently [Eagan, MN] : Thomson Reuters (6/6/14)
Includes unnumbered Tables and index pamphlet volumes for various editions
Vol. 1: Business organizations -- Vol. 1A: Colorado business corporation act and article 90 deskbook

Location: LAW STACKS 1st floor
(Also available on Westlaw)

CD-ROMs discontinued as of Release 29 (2017-1)
Includes index
Description based on: Title page, volume 1 & 2, 2003 release number 2

Location: LAW STACKS 1st floor
(Also available on Lexis)

Publisher varies; currently New Providence, NJ : LexisNexis (6/20/13)
Loose-leaf for updating
Author: Melville B. Nimmer (1978- )
"Times Mirror books."
Description based on: volume 1, title page, rel. 33-6/93

Location: LAW READY REFERENCE
(Also available on Lexis)

Location: LAW STACKS 2nd floor

The second edition of Charles Fox's bestselling paperback guide, Working with Contracts: What Law School Doesn't Teach You, updates the original edition published in 2002.The perfect resource for new associates, law school students, business people, or anyone who frequently deals with complex contracts, the Second Edition expands existing material on contract covenants and remedies for breach of a covenant; due diligence conditions; organization of the agreement; credit-related provisions; acquisition-related provisions; the integration clause; and indemnification. Other miscellaneous revisions are found in every chapter of the Second Edition. In addition, the glossary and the index have been thoroughly revised. In its updated form, Working with Contracts remains the most useful and practical guide for anyone dealing with sophisticated agreements.