The library has access to many newspaper databases, including historical newspaper databases. Some of the most comprehensive databases for historical coverage are ProQuest, Gale, and NewspaperArchive. If you want to access these databases off-campus, be sure that you are on the campus VPN. You may also wish to search within or browse the newspaper databases for other newspaper collections that might be especially relevant to your topic. For example, if you are researching Black Power activists and policing in the 1960s, you might be interested in searching Readex's African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Reveal Digital's Black Periodicals: From the Great Migration through Black Power; and NewsBank's Black Life in America collections, besides searching in broader newspaper collections like ProQuest & Gale's.
Tips for Searching Newspapers:
-Limit by date (e.g. it can be useful to search by say a 5 year period especially if you have a lot of results to go through)
-If you are focused on a specific geographic area and are getting too many results, focus your results by selecting newspapers specific to that area
-Be aware of using historically specific terms. For example, modern terms like "domestic violence" and "intimate-partner abuse" were not commonly used before the 1970s. Try searching terms like "wife beating," "wife abuse," "wife assault," etc. You will have to experiment to see what terms work best for your search
-Be aware that sometimes the headlines in the results of a search are from articles in the same page- just because the headline in the result doesn't look relevant doesn't mean you can ignore it! Still look at the result page to see if it is relevant.
-Take advantage of advanced search techniques to avoid searching too narrowly (e.g. if searching for articles about someone named "Lee Daniel Murphy" in ProQuest, try searching Lee NEAR Murphy to include both mentions of Lee Murphy and Lee Daniel Murphy (searching only one or the other in quotes will not retrieve all relevant results).
-Be aware of what you are searching! ProQuest defaults to excluding full text search- if this is what you want to search, perfect, but if you want to run a full text search you will need to change the search setting.
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
This collection of the Colorado State Library, currently includes more than 5.4 million digitized pages, representing more than 870 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 2024. New titles and issues are added on a regular basis. The collection can be browsed and keyword searched.
Traditional News Sources
You can set up an individual subscription to the New York Times (set up your subscripton here) and the Wall Street Journal (set up your subscription here) through your CU email address. You can login to local Colorado newspapers like the Denver Post and the Boulder Daily Camera through this link. Other newspapers require searching through the library databases for articles. You can search individual newspapers by typing in the title on the "publications" link from the University Library page. If you want to search multiple newspapers at the same time, you can search within different newspaper databases, like ProQuest Current Newspapers, Access World News, and Gale OneFile: News.
Legal News Sources
Some popular legal news sources that you have access to are Bloomberg Law News and Law360. Access Law360 using the VPN if off-campus, or through your Lexis account. Bloomberg Law News requires logging into your Bloomberg Law account. If you don't have an account set up, contact lawref@colorado.edu to set up an account. Through Bloomberg, you can search both Bloomberg specific resources, as well as other legal news resources like American Lawyer Media (ALM).
There may also be subject-specific news sources of interest to you. Check out what news sources you have access to through the University Library databases.