Research Guides: Employer Research: Law Library Resources

Online Study Aids

Don't forget career resources in online study aids databases, in particular West Academic Study Aids.

West Academic Study Aids
West Academic provides digital access to a wide variety of study aids, including nutshells, case briefs, practice questions, audio/video lectures, and outlines for class preparation. Early in the semester, case summaries, the Concepts and Insights series, as well as the Concise Hornbook series are helpful. Mid-semester, you may find the Black Letter Law summaries, Gilbert law summaries and Quick Reviews as a way to engage with easy-to-understand outlines of the law. Late in the semester, you may use the Acing and Exam Pro series for exam preparation. For on-the-go study, the Law School Legends and Sum & Substance audio series are available. Features include advanced search, note-taking, and offline access.

Access restricted to University of Colorado law students.

Directories

Begin your research on a specific employer's website, if you have one in mind. It will help you identify the employer's location, key practice areas, and prominent attorneys.

Other databases allow you to search for employers by type, practice area, locations and more.

The NALP Directory of Legal Employers permits you to search by name, city, state, country, office size and practice area. It is a comprehensive guide which includes law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations and corporations. It recently added information on small and mid-sized firms with 25 -150 lawyers.
Vault.com provides a ranking of the Top 100 law firms based on assessments of lawyers at peer firms. Firm stats include base salary, number of associates, associate reviews, and guides to getting hired. The website also gives an overview of alternative industries for JD Degrees. Vault covers additional employment sectors, but has a subsection devoted to law.
Martindale contains a vast database of lawyers and law firms, including ratings and information on their legal practices. You can browse by practice area, city, state, or attorney. It has a feature which helps you search for alumni from your law school, which may facilitate networking opportunities.
United States Government Manual gives a comprehensive deep-dive on federal agencies, including a brief history and notable programs and activities.
Public Service Jobs Directory is an online clearinghouse for law students and lawyers to connect with public service job notices and career resource.
Chambers and Partners ranks leading firms and lawyers, based on their practice area.
The Colorado Bar Association allow you to search for attorneys in our state.

Career Resources

The Legal Career by Katrina Lee
Call Number: KF297 .L439 2020

ISBN: 9781684671496

Publication Date: 2020-05-26

This first-of-its kind business of law coursebook covers critical topics in the evolving legal profession. A fascinating, informative read for any law student or lawyer or person hoping to learn more about today's legal landscape, the book features chapters on the structure and business of a law firm; the corporate law department; the emergence of law companies; legal technology; access to justice; employment and diversity in the legal profession; lawyer well-being; and legal education reform. Students will learn from detailed, insightful interviews of people working in law, including a co-founder of a leading law company; a legal innovation designer; the vice president and chief risk officer of a global medical technology company; a deputy legal counsel for an artist crowdfunding platform startup; a national pro bono counsel; law school deans; a law firm managing partner; and a senior director of knowledge and innovation delivery. Interactive exercises and questions for reflection and discussion are included throughout the book. This book, with its innovative holistic approach to the business of law, is ideal for business of law or legal professions courses, law school orientation, legal career services programs, and seminars on the legal profession.
How to Succeed As a Trial Lawyer, Third Edition by Stewart Edelstein
Call Number: KF8915 .E34 2025

ISBN: 9781639055364

Publication Date: 2025-01-21

Unlike any other book for trial lawyers, this book covers the gamut--updated practical advice about every aspect of a trial lawyer's skill set. In a straightforward, approachable style, the author, a veteran trial lawyer and mentor, provides numerous pearls of wisdom, practice checklists, and what effective litigators eventually learn on the job. This portable mentor will fast-track any trial lawyer's career. Litigation is a challenging profession. It demands not only intellectual ability but attention to detail, perseverance, creative problem-solving, persuasiveness, focus, integrity, and the ability to press the client's position with zeal while maintaining sufficient detachment to provide the objective, independent advice the client requires. How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer, Third Edition is an invaluable guide to each of these requirements and more. Topics covered: Effective and ethical use of artificial intelligence Strategies for in-person and remote depositions, mediations, and arbitrations Compliance with updated ethical rules Strategic implementation of the most recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence Dealing with clients and others in a trial lawyer's professional life Principles applicable to all legal writing Drafting emails, letters, internal memos, pleadings, motions, and briefs All aspects of discovery, including e-discovery How to try a case, from jury selection through closing argument The art of persuasion Dealing with ethical issues Dealing with stress Marketing a law practice
Careers in Business Law by Lana J. Manganiello
Call Number: KF889.85 .M36 2024

ISBN: 9781639055340

Publication Date: 2025-04-01

If you are considering a career in business law, seeking a new practice area, or contemplating a shift in your legal career, this new guide provides practical advice, valuable insights, and actionable strategies that you can employ to prepare for a successful and fulfilling career in business law. The guide includes personal narratives and profiles of individuals from varied practice areas who have made significant strides in business law, often against the backdrop of historical underrepresentation and adversity. Their stories offer valuable lessons for lawyers at any career stage. Author Lana Manganiello, provides a detailed roadmap to a career in business law, including developing a deep understanding of the field, identifying niche areas of specialization, leveraging technology and innovation, and building a robust professional network. Beginning with choosing the right path and exploring career choices to navigating career evolution and challenges, this guide will help you: navigate the complexities of the legal profession integrate market realities with career aspirations navigate career evolution and challenges overcome professional challenges cultivate key professional relationships build expertise in your chosen area forge your path in business law leverage your success to effect positive change within the profession and much more!
Her Story by Teresa M. Beck (Editor); Alicia M. Menendez (Editor); Shayna M. Steinfeld (Editor)
Call Number: KF299.W6 H475 2024

ISBN: 9781639054008

Publication Date: 2024-07-16

Women lawyers have made great strides over the past few decades, but the legal profession, like many other professions, has not dismantled the obstacles that impact women. Her Story: The Resilient Woman Lawyer's Guide to Conquering Obstacles, Book 2, the second book by the Litigation Section's Woman Advocate Committee and the sequel to Her Story: Lessons in Success from Lawyers Who Live It, is a collection of essays that tell us that we are not alone, that there is a sisterhood in the legal profession that supports us, and that we can learn from one another and lift up others who share our experiences. These are meaningful and hope-filled stories about the value of being true to ourselves, establishing unique career paths, and finding guideposts and beacons to enlighten us along the way to success. Her Story is a guidebook through tough times and a road map for eliminating the obstacles we can change. Her Story is designed to encourage further discussion on topics that we all face but seldom speak about. Each chapter ends with questions to facilitate discussion in a book club, roundtable, or meeting setting, or to reflect on personally. Enjoy the book from start to finish or by picking out a chapter or essay of interest.
How to Be a Star Associate by James J. McDonald; James J. McDonald
Call Number: KF300 .M28 2024

ISBN: 9781639054619

Publication Date: 2024-12-10

"Most of what makes a lawyer a star involves smart choices, hard work, and the ability to relate to people. You also need skills to succeed in a law firm that you probably did not learn in law school. You can develop those skills, and this book can help you." So says James J. McDonald, Jr., author of How to Be a Star Associate: A Guide to Excelling in Your Early Legal Career. Applying lessons learned during his forty years of law practice, and from hiring, training and mentoring dozens of lawyers, McDonald shows new lawyers and lawyers-to-be how to survive and thrive in today's larger law firms. From picking the right firm, to getting the job, to learning the craft of practicing law, to finding the right mentors, to learning how to write persuasively, to going to court, to managing the workload to stay busy without becoming overwhelmed, this book covers all of the basics of law firm associate life. It also shows lawyers how to provide five-star client service in a two-and-a-half-star world, how to hone their client development skills in the "internal marketplace" in their law firm, and how to be thinking about business development from day one. This book provides a practical guide for lawyers who hope someday to become successful partners in their law firms.