Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hein's American Indian Law Collection

Guide prepared by Hein to help research their American Indian Law collection on HeinOnline.

HeinOnline Specialist

Searching within the Database

Full-Text Searching

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline. After entering the American Indian Law Collection, the Full Text search tab option on the search bar will search only within this database.

Search for articles pertaining to a topic using the main search bar. For example, enter the phrase indian AND self-determination into the search bar. 

Within the results, terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets. Refine the results using the facets on the left side of the page. Available facets include date, document type, and title. Sort search results by relevance, volume date, and more. Find cited-by information and access tools, such as an instant PDF download, on the right side of each search result.  Use the icons next to the sort-by bar to modify your current search, to search within results, to toggle all matching text pages, or to turn OFF infinite scroll.

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search link located beneath the main search bar functions much like the Advanced Search option in other databases, allowing users to search particular fields within the metadata for more precise results. Enter text, title, date, or description keywords into the text boxes provided. Refine the search to a specific document type, including constitutions, acts, by-laws, tribal codes, legislative histories, treaty-related publications, Native American treaties, and more. 

Venn Diagram Search

Users can now visualize the results yield of various keywords to better refine their searches. To use the Venn Diagram feature in the American Indian Law Collection, select the Advanced Search hyperlink to find the Venn Diagram Search within.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Users will be redirected to a search bar, instructions for its use, and example searches. Enter a search for multiple terms separated with the Boolean operators "AND." A Venn Diagram will appear, illustrating the various combinations of those terms and their respective results yield throughout the databaseThe original search combining all terms will appear by default, visually represented by the red intersection of all circles. 

View a sample Venn Diagram Search for the terms education AND indian AND self-determination below.

 

Native American Treaty Search Tool

Find the Native American Treaty Search tool under the main search bar from any page within the database. Use the tool to search for Native American treaties by keywords & text, treaty number, tribe, short title, treaty description, date, and/or subject. 

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS